Hd Capture Utility at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2003, 12:14 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 46
Hd Capture Utility

It seems that when you capture, rather than 1 large capture file, a separate file is created for each time you paused your recording.

While this is not a big problem, I've noticed that the shorter duration clips (under 2-3 seconds) are not captured at all.

Anyone else notice this?

Anyway around it?

Thanks.
Michael Hyun is offline  
Old August 5th, 2003, 01:41 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 99
yah, i had the same problem.....i guess you just make sure your clip is longer then a few seconds.....since it seems to cut off the first and last few seconds of each clip (leaving short clips overlooked entirely)
Joe Russ is offline  
Old August 5th, 2003, 09:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 67
Have you ran into the case where you have recored say clip 1 in HD mode and say clip 2 in SD mode, you then use the HD Capture Utility which creates two files then you try to import them into a new project using the 'MPEG Edit Studio Pro LE' software that came with the camera only to get an error message when you try to add clip 2 because the video-Attribute is different then the project or the first clip? How do you get around this problem?

Sasha
Sasha Froyland is offline  
Old August 6th, 2003, 11:03 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
I would take a look at the new Womble editor, www.womble.com, I tried it briefly and it seemed much more reliable thant the Mpeg Studio software that came with the camera, and it's only $120. I will probably buy it myself shortly when I have time to get to some editing.
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old August 6th, 2003, 11:28 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 67
Thanks Paul. I'll check into it.
Sasha
Sasha Froyland is offline  
Old August 6th, 2003, 02:05 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, California
Posts: 97
>>>I've noticed that the shorter duration clips (under 2-3 seconds) are not captured at all.

Anyone else notice this?<<<

I think there is a warning about this in the user guide? However, I've noticed that the "on camera" edits truncate the audio about this same amount. Could it be that the editor is purposely designed to compensate for this by truncating the video to match? In any case, compensating for this trait during shooting seems to be the best bet.
__________________
Ray
Raymond Krystof is offline  
Old August 6th, 2003, 08:47 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 46
I saw a warning in the software installation packet, but not in the user guide (i don't recall).

I've also noticed a tendency for the HDcapture utility to skip some longer (>5 secs) clips as well. Anybody else notice this?

Has anybody tried any 3rd party capture programs for the PC?

Thanks.
Michael Hyun is offline  
Old August 7th, 2003, 08:10 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, California
Posts: 97
I haven’t tried any other products as yet, but I do know the Cineform product “Aspect HD” comes with its own capture utility called “CF Capture”. Since Aspect HD seems to have been developed specifically for the HD1/HD10 it might be somewhat fine tuned to get around some of these idiosyncrasies? Cineform is offering a 30 day money back satisfaction guarantee with the product when it comes out. As such I think I’ll give it a try when I know I’ll have some free time to properly check it out.
__________________
Ray
Raymond Krystof is offline  
Old August 7th, 2003, 09:32 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Womble Editor

Tried to use Womble Editor as Paul suggested earlier. Apparently the trial is for MPG1 only - that does not help! I tried email (support@womble.com) and message was returned. So much for Womble.
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network