a possibly dumb question about dv at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 1st, 2003, 04:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 99
a possibly dumb question about dv

i dont know if im missing something, but i cant get premiere (or any program) to transfer dv video to the camera through the firewire cable. does it just not allow it? im using a pc and ive tried everything i can think of. part of the video shows up and its garbled and its crap. will this camera just not record to dv tape through firewire?
Joe Russ is offline  
Old September 1st, 2003, 05:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 99
could some1 at least try transfering to dv from the computer?

helloooo
Joe Russ is offline  
Old September 1st, 2003, 05:37 PM   #3
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
It sounds like your PC is having issues with the firewire card. Try re-installing it, and updating all drivers for it and Premiere.
Good luck with it.
K. Forman is offline  
Old September 1st, 2003, 06:52 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 99
no, cos i have a sony trv-950 and it works fine, i just tested it
Joe Russ is offline  
Old September 2nd, 2003, 04:53 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Is the DV-MPG switch on the HD-1 in the DV position?
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
Old September 2nd, 2003, 08:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 99
<<<-- Originally posted by David Kennett : Is the DV-MPG switch on the HD-1 in the DV position? -->>>

yes it is
Joe Russ is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 04:16 AM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm not familiair with this camera, but here in PAL (europe) land
a lot of camera's have DV-IN disabled because extra fees
must be paid for having it enabled (worries that people use it
to copy stuff illegal). I'm not sure whether your camera is PAL
and might have such a block, but it might be a possability.

Can you capture fine? If so, your card etc. is working okay.

If using premiere, you might it over so that the monitor is routed
over your firewire. No play the timeline and record that. See if
that helps.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 03:58 PM   #8
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
I tested the camera with FCP as a Source.

But, alas I didn't try outputting to the camera.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 06:53 PM   #9
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
I have added a section on making DV from HDV using 4HDV.

I asked a buyer of 4HDV to try recording a DV version of HDV back to his HD10.


His report:

"The camera recorded the "DV from HD" via firewire just fine."

So I'm not sure why your are having problem with a PC.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network