LANC or any type of zoom controler at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2003, 11:43 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 20
LANC or any type of zoom controler

Does the camera have an LANC or any type of zoom controller? I did a search that said, no. I find this hard to believe.
George A. Ross is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 11:57 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
I did not find any lanc on the HD10, but then I was not searching for one, maybe a thorough search would be needed.
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 11:59 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
Isn't it that only Canon and Sony support Lanc? There isn't one on the JVC.
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 01:14 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 20
I thought some sort of remote was standard on pro level camcorders. Perhaps I'm wrong. I've owned Sony & Panasonic & they both had remotes, Sony used LANC & Panasonic has a newer type.
George A. Ross is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 03:44 PM   #5
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Re: LANC or any type of zoom controler

<<<-- Originally posted by Utahbound : Does the camera have an LANC or any type of zoom controller? I did a search that said, no. I find this hard to believe. -->>>

Why?

LANC is a Sony design also used by Canon.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 05:13 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Jlip on JVC isn't it called. I believe JVC are all alone with their standard. Does the camera have one of these?
I did a lot of searching for this befor and it was hard to get much info. JVC does sell a Jlip cable and I do recall software being available, but you would have to know some programing and some specific info on the camera that JVC might not give out, to make it of any use.
ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 05:49 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
It does not have any control on it.

I guess, if you need control, it will be through a firewire cable, and that would be deck control. No zoom controller is available for it.

Cheers

DBK
Darren Kelly is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 05:59 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
That sucks. Does it not have a seperate remote controll pad? Even my old 1 chip JVC DV had a remote.
ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 06:05 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
It comes with a remote which you could use I guess.

A little difficult to hold the remote and do a pan and tilt at the same time though.

DBK
Darren Kelly is offline  
Old September 17th, 2003, 06:58 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
True enough. You could mount the remote on the pan and tilt console and run it all from there. What kind of range/reception does the remote get you?
ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Old September 28th, 2003, 11:31 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
I don't think either Hd1 or HD10 has any wired remotes. I also do agree that this sucks big time. Varizoom's LANC for Sony VX2000 has been a huge help. Being able to control both focus and zoom without touching the camera body is very important.

Also, what do you do when the camera is mounted on a crane? Bummer.

It does have a little wireless remote, but it's a joke - do not waste your time thinking you can use it reliably. Plus it only controls zoom but not focus, to my knowledge. Plus cam's IR sensor is located at the FRONT alongside the lens...

I'd seriously hope that next generation of these cams will feature a LANC-type wired, variable speed focus/zoom plus rec-stop/wake up remote. It is a handicap for JVC HD not to have such basic necessity.
Alex Raskin is offline  
Old September 28th, 2003, 12:26 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
JVC used to offer Jlip packs for their older cameras. I hope a solution is put forth. What about the big JVC DV cams -500/700.
Do they have any remote controll options? They must have something available considering their market. Maybe the same setup will work on the JVC. Even if I have to use a pc to controll it through software (like varizoom but you use a keyboard) I would be happy.
ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network