Best way to include SD PIP on HD footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2003, 04:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Best way to include SD PIP on HD footage?

Hey guys--I'm going to be doing a project soon using the JVC cam that calls for SD footage to be superimposed onto HD footage. The number one priority for this shoot is maximum image quality and resolution as it will be used to test a new HD projector system. I am completely a newbie to this camera but have done a little research and am aware of Aspect HD and some of their solutions with Premiere 6.5. Anyway, can anyone recommend a work flow for this project that will deliver maximum image quality? Thanks!

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Old October 14th, 2003, 09:28 PM   #2
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
I have a chapter on using Legacy footage in HD in my 4HDV. Bottom line, start with 16:9 video from native 16:9 CCDs.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old October 15th, 2003, 08:52 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Thanks for the reply Steve. If I'm not mistaken, the JVC has native 16x9's, right? So I'm off to a good start? What does "Legacy" footage mean?

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Old October 15th, 2003, 08:57 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Steve--We will most likekly be cutting this using Premiere 6.5 or Pro (though I realize Aspect HD doesn't support Pro yet). Does your book cover Premiere, too, or just Final Cut? We do have a dual processor G4 that we might be able to get Final cut for, though. Would that be enough processor power to handle the HD? Thanks again!

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Old October 15th, 2003, 05:16 PM   #5
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Legacy means all that NTSC material you have already filmed and want to use.

Do you want to shoot anamorphic DV with the JVC HD10 -- or another JVC?

I use 4HDV on a 1GHz iMac and a dual 1.42 GHz PowerMac.

When editing there is no penalty using any Mac. Whatever realtime performance you get now, you'll get using 4HDV.

The faster the Mac, the faster the pre-edit conversions and the faster the MPEG-2 encoding when you are done editing.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network