Comparison frames from HD-1/HD-10 - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2004, 10:54 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 30
Yes, I ran out of room on the server in mid frame on one of the tower pictures.

The pictures are RAW. I sent them from tape to the SD card in the camera and copied them from the card directly to the website. I'm not kidding around. Not with a $2000+ piece of equipment. (to me that's a lot of dough... I ain't no starving Indi film maker, ;-) There are NO MODS on those pictures.

I had some severe ND on there, an ND4 + two CP filters (as a variable ND) adjusted so that the sky was OK. Shutter speed was at 60 and F-stop was probably somewere around 2 or 4. I think I could have used a bit more ND to be honest. That might have made the white of the tower a bit less than 255, maybe reducing the EE effect.

- GLupien
Gordon Lupien Jr. is offline  
Old January 15th, 2004, 01:10 AM   #32
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Gordon - What kind of matte box or filter holder do you have?

Ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Old January 15th, 2004, 11:40 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 30
I wasn't using anything specifc. Would that make a difference? I assumed (we all know about that...) that since I was not heading into the sun, it would not be an issue.

I'm just a casual family shooter, so you're beyond me already. ;-)

- GLupien
Gordon Lupien Jr. is offline  
Old January 15th, 2004, 12:45 PM   #34
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Gordon,

I hear ya, man! I'm so dependent on my DP that sometimes I'm clueless, too, about accessories! I just bought my first filters!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 15th, 2004, 04:38 PM   #35
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Gordon - "I wasn't using anything specifc. Would that make a difference?"

I was just wondering as I noticed you were using 3 filters (1 rotating). The Cavision matte box lists 1 fixed and 1 rotating filter holder, and I was just curious on how and where additional filters go?

Ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Old January 15th, 2004, 10:58 PM   #36
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 30
I used a Hoya ND4, 52mm filter followed by two Hoya 52mm circular polarizing filters, one of which was taped to stop it from rotating, and the other removed and flipped over in it's mount. When rotating the outer CP filter, you get a nice variable ND effect. All three filters were stacked up with the rotating CP on the outside, so I could rotate it freely.

So they are simply stacked 52mm ND and CP filters.

- GLupien
Gordon Lupien Jr. is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 12:11 AM   #37
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
G,

nothing that indicates it's a "gray" ND filter?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 12:51 AM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Southern Cal-ee-for-Ni-ya
Posts: 608
ND is grey

ND filters are all supposed to be 'grey'. ND stands for Neutral Density. Neutral, as in no color tint effect. It should attenuate the full visible spectrum the same amount.

-Les
Les Dit is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 01:31 AM   #39
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Then I wonder why they label it as grey. Weird...
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 11:03 AM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 30
Just checking, but none of this ND filter stuff has anything to do with the edge enhancement problem, right? There's no chance that using the incorrect filter will somehow "turn on" edge enhancement...

I'd be surprised...

How come no HD10 people are showing us any pictures????

- GLupien
Gordon Lupien Jr. is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 02:40 PM   #41
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I'll have some jpegs this weekend. Just been busy!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 05:20 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 30
Thanks Heath! You're the man!

(special request...) Can you take some tape of something horizontal that's ever so slightly over-exposed so we can see if that's what the problem is?

Thanks a ton!!!

- GLupien
Gordon Lupien Jr. is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 06:03 PM   #43
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Which problem? I'm so busy, I've lost track...

I won't have the camera as of Tuesday, so I'll try and do it ASAP. I'm loaning it to a friend for some potential work.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 06:36 PM   #44
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 66
HD10 Shots

Here a few HD10 shots I did while running a few filter tests a month ago. The pics are compressed with jpeg compression so they look worse online and the chroma noise in the sky issue has been solved with various filter use and after effects. I don't know how to post a proper link in here so I'm just putting the address.

http://www.viproductions.tv/hd10/HD10shots.htm

Mark Jervis
Mark Jervis is offline  
Old January 16th, 2004, 06:37 PM   #45
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 30
Sorry, I got the HD1 and HD10 confused. I'm assuming that having a touch of overexposure in the video is what causes the HD1 to go nuts on the edge enhancement. I did some analysis in Photoshop on my problem footage.

I'm wondering if you could overexpose a couple things in a shot or two with the HD10 so I can see what the edge enhancement does with it.

- GLupien
Gordon Lupien Jr. is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network