Using HD10u as a Webcam? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2004, 10:22 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Using HD10u as a Webcam?

Hi all,

I need to setup my HD10u as a Webcam on a Mac (first choice Mac and then PC). I've tried to get iChat to see the camera, but it ain't working.

Anyone had any luck Webcaming with the HD10u?? Help!

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline  
Old June 16th, 2004, 11:42 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 44
I can't get it to work either.

I tried to get the HD-1 to work as a webcam on my Windows XP machine. The computer would see the camera, but the MSN chat program kept popping up error messages. (Something to the effect than another program was using the cameras.
Chris Gordon is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 05:04 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Maybe the camera can't be read because of the MPEG aspect?

Does anyone know if the HD10u works with Yahoo! on PC's??

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 05:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
<<<-- Originally posted by Christopher C. Murphy : Maybe the camera can't be read because of the MPEG aspect?

Does anyone know if the HD10u works with Yahoo! on PC's??

Murph -->>>

I was led to believe that the HD1/10 couldn't be used in this role....

I suspect a signal pass-through would be required to send the image directly to the I-link or USB connection (depending on the record mode selected) when in record mode.....

The lowest rez. setting of the cam would also be a little high for reasonable video transmission over the net wouldn't it?
Steve Crisdale is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 06:03 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Ooops!!

Just grabbed the manual and checked on webcam...

Here's the manuals description....

This camera can be used as a webcam via USB connection.

1. Set the recording mode switch to memory.

2. Set the power switch to A or M

3. Connect the camcorder to the PC (Mac)

The cam should then be recognised according to the manual.....

P.S. use the AC power supply in this mode!!

The manual also says:
"You can also use the camcorder for video conferencing over the internet using MS Messenger"...
Steve Crisdale is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 06:23 AM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Murph, try EvoCam for the Mac.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 06:50 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Thanks Guys!! I'm off to try all this stuff.......HD Webcam! :)

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 09:42 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
My guess is webcam would only work in DV mode. HD over webcam via USB? How about increadably slow slide show cam!
Ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 09:45 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Actually, I can't get it working....

Bummer.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 10:10 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 236
It's not HD

I was excited about this prospect as well, but the web cam function only works with USB and it only shows a 640X480 window (standard video conf, webcam specs) max. Typically it's 320X240 resolution on most software applications.

Troy
Troy Lamont is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 11:29 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
What OS and software did you try that with?? I would like to try it.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 01:55 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 236
I used Win XP sp1 with AIM, MSN & Netmeeting. None would work higher than 640x480.

It worked tho'....

Troy
Troy Lamont is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 02:30 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 44
Web cam

I tried everything in the manual, I can see the HD1 webcam in the setup pane for MSN messenger... but when I click to start a web cam conversation it gives me an error message saying that another program is using the camera. All other programs are closed however.
Chris Gordon is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 02:40 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
No go on a Mac here. It's not even showing up in iChat (latest version).

I wonder if there is a freeware Webcam software out there that would work? I'll have to download one from www.versiontracker.com. (good site)

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline  
Old June 18th, 2004, 09:50 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 236
I'm quite sure you guys intalled the CDs that came with the camcorder?

If I'm not mistaken the CDs have USB drivers specific for the camcorder. I installed all the applications/drivers from the CDs and my webcam works...

Troy
Troy Lamont is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network