What did I get into???? Yikes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 24th, 2004, 08:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
What did I get into???? Yikes

OK, While I am a pro photographer and a HD (viewing) freak
I thought I would take on the learning curve over the next couple
of years and add HD recordings to my portfolio of services.
I have the raw talent and technical ability to understand most
of imaging I still can't get my hands around what should be
easy enuf' technical solutions.

I own the 10U. I have a Plasma SONY. Today I shot some Martial Arts
footage and thought I could simply plug in to my Compondent distro box
along with the s/AV for R/L audio and be ok. NO way. My sony does not
have a iLink input and as you all know, I can't play back HD in native.

I understand what I have to do on the editing side via FCP4 and Lumiere HD etc., but I really have to ask, how does one play back a Native 720p signal on a HDTV set (without iLink)?

Are DVD-HD's going to be my answer?

Hope I made myself clear here.

Best,
Tom
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline  
Old September 24th, 2004, 09:42 PM   #2
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I went through similar panics earlier. I'm going to let some of the others post up, because I haven't had issues like that.

But I will say this, Lumiere HD is very nice.

hwm
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old September 24th, 2004, 09:51 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Re: What did I get into???? Yikes

<<<-- Originally posted by Tom Aellis : OK, While I am a pro photographer and a HD (viewing) freak
I thought I would take on the learning curve over the next couple
of years and add HD recordings to my portfolio of services.
I have the raw talent and technical ability to understand most
of imaging I still can't get my hands around what should be
easy enuf' technical solutions.

I own the 10U. I have a Plasma SONY. Today I shot some Martial Arts
footage and thought I could simply plug in to my Compondent distro box
along with the s/AV for R/L audio and be ok. NO way. My sony does not
have a iLink input and as you all know, I can't play back HD in native.

I understand what I have to do on the editing side via FCP4 and Lumiere HD etc., but I really have to ask, how does one play back a Native 720p signal on a HDTV set (without iLink)?

Are DVD-HD's going to be my answer?

Hope I made myself clear here.

Best,
Tom -->>>

Have you set the output from the HD10 to 'all to 1080' in the camera menu? (pg 40 of the manual).
If your HDTV is truly a HD device, it should display the 1080i upconverted signal via component connector.

I was unable to get the cam to display anything better than 480p to my Panasonic HDTV (1080 sticker on front facia!!), and have since found that the Sharp Aquos LCD HDTV displays the same footage perfectly at 1080i....Conclusion: purchase Sharp Aquos, sell Pana pseudo HDTV!!!
Steve Crisdale is offline  
Old September 25th, 2004, 05:55 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Not quite there yet....

Well, I changed my 10U settings to 720p to 1080 as well
as All to 1080 and still have the same error display on my
Cam LCD

"Cannot display on both monitor and LCD in this Mode"

The book suggests this is a HD dubbing issue.
I have also tried setting the camera to 480p with
the same results.

I have no problem with the TV display 480p for DVD
and Cable in 1080i.

Any ideas please? (remembering my source in the tape is
HD)

Thanks tons.
Tom
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline  
Old September 25th, 2004, 06:27 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Should also mention

Should also mention that I am connecting first to
the copper box Compondent auto distro box then
to a common output to the Sony TV, my DVD
is on port 1 with no problem at all and my 10U
is on port two.

Don't think this has anything to do with it but thought
I should mention.

Thanks again!!!
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline  
Old September 26th, 2004, 02:57 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 112
Component video

I don't know how many ports you have in your somy and what is their name, I just want to tel lyou though that I connected my HD1 via "Component Video" to many different TV sets (Including Panasonic, Samsung DLP etc.) without a problem. I did this both at 1080 as well as 720 (much better quality) . In the past a user here with the same problem that you have found a faulty cable in his kit. Make sure you go component and you are in business. BTW..Can you hear the audio?

Gabriele
Gabriele Sartori is offline  
Old September 26th, 2004, 03:36 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Tom,

First, it is perfectly normal to see a blank (blue) viewfinder while an external HDTV is connected. You might try bypassing your switch box??, and inputting directly to TV. Make sure the input you choose is capable of HD, and set the camcorder according to its capabalities. My Samsung DLP has three component inputs: One for 480p, 480i, and two others for only 480p, 720p, 1080i. Your TV manual should specify the HD capabilities of your component inputs.

Hope this helps
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
Old September 26th, 2004, 03:36 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Tom,

First, it is perfectly normal to see a blank (blue) viewfinder while an external HDTV is connected. You might try bypassing your switch box??, and inputting directly to TV. Make sure the input you choose is capable of HD, and set the camcorder according to its capabalities. My Samsung DLP has three component inputs: One for 480p, 480i, and two others for only 480p, 720p, 1080i. Your TV manual should specify the HD capabilities of your component inputs.

Hope this helps
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
Old September 26th, 2004, 03:37 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
thanks and....

Thanks Gabriele...

I cannot hear audio and the common compondent cable between
my compondent swith box and the Sony TV is good as I run
my DVD which outputs to the TV via the same cable.

The problem seems to be the LCD monitor, via playback at any rate,
states "cannot display on both the LCD and viewfinder with this mode"

My Compondent switch box does display a solid LCD showing a
"signal" so it does seem like to camera is my problem.

Any ideas would be so helpful.
Thx
Tom
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline  
Old September 26th, 2004, 05:36 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
GOT IT!

Turns out my DVD Feed to the TV was going to the 2nd compondent input of my sony.

When I switched to the first port I came right up in 720p.

The compondent (auto) box (4 input w/Optical audio) really does
a neat job when you use it correctly. :-)

Thanks tons guys!!!!!!

Tom
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network