Dark Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 7th, 2005, 12:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 96
Dark Capture

A question about HD capture from Jyhd10 to PC. When I record footage and play it back on my TV it looks amazing. When I take the same footage, transfer it through firewire to my PC. It comes out extremely dark. ( I can adjust it in post). I just was wondering if that was normal. Or what can cause that.(ie crapy firewire cable???/)..Has anyone else experienced this?
Darrin McMillan is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 01:13 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
FireWire is digital so that is not the issue. Check your graphics card's Overlay settings as they have independent brightness, constract and gamma controls for calibrating video output/playback on the desktop.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 10:30 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 112
Re: Dark Capture

<<<-- Originally posted by Darrin McMillan : A question about HD capture from Jyhd10 to PC. When I record footage and play it back on my TV it looks amazing. When I take the same footage, transfer it through firewire to my PC. It comes out extremely dark. ( I can adjust it in post). I just was wondering if that was normal. Or what can cause that.(ie crapy firewire cable???/)..Has anyone else experienced this? -->>>

No, it is not normal. On my pc, my TV used as monitor and on my big tv the brightness is always the same.
Gabriele Sartori is offline  
Old February 8th, 2005, 06:35 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 96
Any Ideas

Thanks. That is good to know. Any ideas of what might cause that. It must be the video card.. Anyway thanks for your help.
Darrin McMillan is offline  
Old February 8th, 2005, 03:16 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Re: Any Ideas

<<<-- Originally posted by Darrin McMillan : Thanks. That is good to know. Any ideas of what might cause that. It must be the video card.. Anyway thanks for your help. -->>>

You didn't say what program you are viewing the 'dark' footage in....

If it's in any of the 'playback' appz like Win Media Player, PowerDVD, WinDVD or the like, you will need to tweak the Brightness, Contrast and Gamma settings within the app.

If it's in the MPEG Studio app that comes with the HD10, then you need to adjust your video card's video overlay settings as David N suggested.

If you are getting the footage looking fine from the camera direct to your TV, it's very unlikely to be the IEEE1394 connection...
Steve Crisdale is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network