How many people own an HD10 or HD1 (and/or still use it) - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2006, 11:33 AM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Ferdinand
By the way Graham, does the HC1 have sharpening controls? And can you lock the AE as with the HD1? I know you can't lock both the aperture and shutter at the same time, like the JVC cameras, which really sucks.

If not with the HC1, can you with the AU1?
Patrick Jenkins is offline  
Old January 25th, 2006, 11:46 AM   #32
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Dave, yes the HC1 allows sharpening to be adjusted.

Regarding locking exposure .... I'm not entirely sure. There a lengthy thread on that somewhere here. My understanding is that I can lock the shutter (say at 1/60) plus the exposure (i.e. a combination of gain plus aperture plus maybe?? internal ND filters).

This is close, but not identical, to how the HD1 functioned - the difference being that with the HD1 when exposure was locked the shutter speed could sometimes change from what I wanted it to be. To complicate matters, the setting it would drift to seemed to differ on different cameras - at least if the forum discussion here was properly summarizing the situation.

One thing I learned just this week is that the HC1 "cinema" mode appears to be true Cineframe30. I have no interest in 24p, but I did like editing in JVCs 30p, so I am about to do some experimenting with generating 30p footage from the HC1. Who knows, maybe I'll even down-rez it to 720 ... and it will be just like old times with the JVC!
Graham Hickling is offline  
Old January 25th, 2006, 01:23 PM   #33
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
Don't forget that the cinema mode would give you 1440x540 which is actually less vertical resolution than an SD PAL camera. At least theoretically.
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline  
Old January 25th, 2006, 01:35 PM   #34
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Oh poop! For some insane reason I had thought Cineframe 30 was doing something a bit more sophisticated than that. I just checked Adam Wilts article and sure enough:

"Cineframe 30 on the 60i FX1 ... throws away one field and doubles the other. The resulting image has half the motion resolution of the normal interlaced mode and appears like a progressive frame, but it only has a single field's worth of information, so its vertical resolution is somewhat degraded, and diagonal lines may look "steppy" or "jaggy".

Thanks for the head-up on that!
Graham Hickling is offline  
Old January 25th, 2006, 03:37 PM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
I still use my two-and-a-half year old HD10. I wonder what would be available today if JVC hadn't opened the flood gates!
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 09:56 AM   #36
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Dave F., it's really 1080i and NOT cut in half. Take a look at the image, it's wonderful. Both the Sonys and the HD100 have great images. When treated well, the HD10 has great images, too.

Any of the new HD10s/HD1s (made in 2004 and beyond) have the official HDV logo?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 10:17 AM   #37
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Still Got It!

I have my new XL2, and my XL1s, but I will keep my HD10 also.

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 10:35 AM   #38
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Here's a crazy thought....

... maybe I'll start converting my Sony's 1080i footage to 720p30 in post, and then use the HD1 as my playback deck to my HDTV, at least until the dust settles on blueray, hddvd, hdmi and the rest....?

Although...hmmm...I guess I'd have to forgo any surround sound audio while I was doing it that way.

(BTW, I just asked in another thread: is 720p60 a valid HDV transport file format, and if so what, if anything, can play it presently? Not the HD1, presumeably?)
Graham Hickling is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 10:45 AM   #39
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I wonder if you can shoot in 1080i60, convert to 720p30 and have the JVC read and record it?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 11:10 AM   #40
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath McKnight
I wonder if you can shoot in 1080i60, convert to 720p30 and have the JVC read and record it?

heath
Sure! A JVC 720p30 transport stream is one of Cineform's HDV export options out of Premiere...
Graham Hickling is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 11:19 AM   #41
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath McKnight
Dave F., it's really 1080i and NOT cut in half. Take a look at the image, it's wonderful. Both the Sonys and the HD100 have great images. When treated well, the HD10 has great images, too.

Any of the new HD10s/HD1s (made in 2004 and beyond) have the official HDV logo?

heath
Hey Heath, I was talking about Cineframe mode only, which is line-doubled. Therefore you get half vertical resolution. In standard 60i of course you do get full 1080 lines split in two fields. :)
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline  
Old January 26th, 2006, 10:55 PM   #42
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I've read several items that said CineFrame mode only drops quality 25%, though I don't notice it so much in CF30 or CF25. CF24 seems to drop a bit.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 27th, 2006, 06:32 AM   #43
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
I've just posted a resolution chart comparision of the Sony HC1's 'normal' and 'cinema mode' footage in this thread:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...096#post420096

Also, as explained in that same thread, the HC1's cinema mode in fact appears to me to be CF24, not CF30. Cineform's "3:2 pulldown removal" works nicely on it.
Graham Hickling is offline  
Old January 27th, 2006, 08:59 AM   #44
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Graham,

post that in the HC1/A1 board, because we're off track here in HD10/1 land:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=99

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network