Outputting 16:9 to a 4:3 TV with letterbars? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 7th, 2006, 04:33 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Outputting 16:9 to a 4:3 TV with letterbox bars?

The footage plays on the LCD with the bars at the top and bottom but on my 4:3 TV it's stretched to fill the screen. Playing with the S-video 16:9/4:3 setting in the menu does nothing. Is it possible to output widescreen footage to a 4:3 to include the bars at the top and bottom, rather than having to watch my footage in 16:9 stretched to 4:3? Thanks.
__________________
BenWinter.com

Last edited by Ben Winter; February 7th, 2006 at 07:03 PM.
Ben Winter is offline  
Old February 8th, 2006, 11:40 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
Are you playing back recorded footage or using the camera in recording mode? In recording mode the camera will only output squished 480i. In playback mode, the only glitch I know of is that DV and SD don't play properly through the Component (Y/Pb/Pr) output, but it sounds like you're using HD footage and the S-Video connector, right? If that's the case it sounds like a problem with your camera, although unfortunately I don't have mine on hand to test it right now. I always just dump the video to my computer and watch it, so I've only used it on a TV a couple times.
Joel Kreisel is offline  
Old February 9th, 2006, 11:33 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
Mine is always squished on my 4:3 TV. The only way I have to get it right is to display it on my HDTV...

No, I don't think there's an option to change this.
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline  
Old February 9th, 2006, 08:21 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
I figured as much. Thanks.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 07:14 AM   #5
Eric Larson
 
Posts: n/a
System Menu

If you go to the system menu in playback mode, there is a S/Video option. The options are 4:3 TV and 16:9 TV.
There is also Y/Pb/Pr option to select the conversion if you are going that route.

Eric Larson
 
Old February 10th, 2006, 09:46 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Eric, I saw that option before and noted earlier that it didn't work. Is there something else I need to do to make it work?
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 02:37 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
This is odd, because I seem to recall it working for me last time I tried it. Let me fire off an email to my colleague that has the camera right now and see what he comes up with in testing it.
Joel Kreisel is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network