Linux Capture? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2006, 02:41 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
Linux Capture?

Does anyone know if it's possible to capture from the HD1/10 in Linux? Something tells me there's probably not a driver for it, but has anyone tried it?

I'd like to migrate to Linux so I can use Cinelerra, and it'd be nice to capture and edit on the same machine.
Joel Kreisel is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:41 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 175
Try contacting main concept, they make a linux editing program, not sure on capture of hdv though.

http://www.mainconcept.com/index_flash.shtml
Jed Williamson is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 01:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
Well the problem isn't having a capture program per se, it's getting Linux to recognize the HD1 as a video camera. Since the HD capture works oddly in Windows (with the JVC Tape Device driver and all), I assume it's equally unusual in Linux.
Joel Kreisel is offline  
Old March 3rd, 2006, 01:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
linux

try spectsoft, (www.spectsoft.com) they may have a solution for you. they specialize in linux hd solutions
Carlos Rodriguez is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 02:15 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 2
mpg123grab for hdv linux capture

Cinelerra crashed a couple of times when capturing from the camera. I use mpg123grab for capturing from my HC1. I have read that the HD1/10 also output normal mpeg2 transport streams. Mpg123grab puts all the captured data into a single file. I am still working on automatic file splits on scene boundaries. You must download it as a C file (google will find it), and compile it with libraw1394. This should be straight forward on most recent distributions. I run Fedora 4 and cinelerra is just fine. Learn the keyboard shortcuts, which make using it a breeze.
Frank Berndt is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 02:23 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
Hey, thanks a ton! I'll give it a try!
Joel Kreisel is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 03:23 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 48
Cinelerra RPM

Hey Joel,
Frank's suggestion is good. However, there is a Fedora Core 4 RPM for i386 systems and x86_64 boxes here:
http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/freshrp...hrpms.net.html

Right off the bat, I wouldn't suggest you try to compile the program as the requirements for the program are pretty hairy. As you get more facile with Cinelerra, you could then venture into compilation territory.

I have an HD10U and have been very successful using Cinelerra and getting output; however, the learning curve is quite high, so be advised.

Before being able to edit in Cinelerra, you will have to create table of contents files from your MPEG2 transport stream source files with mpeg3toc . The command is:
mpeg3toc <sourceFile> <destinationFile>

scott
Scott Frase is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 03:26 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
I'm actually running Ubuntu, and I've already got the 64-bit version running stablely. I was just trying to figure out how to capture.

What kinds of systems are you guys on and what kind of performance do you get? I'd like to be able to get at least 30fps performance for editing at 720p.
Joel Kreisel is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 03:35 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 48
Hey Joel,
I just did a google on "cinelerra ubuntu 64" and up came a few links. This link points you to Cinelerra developers site, www.heroinewarrior.com:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=47617

There are two build streams for the program. One is www.heroinewarrior.com, the other cvs.cinelerra.com. CVS site is very active.

To answer your question, you'd better have at least a dual-proc opteron box if you want to render full frame 720P to the screen. I've got a 3.2Ghz P4 w/1GB of PC3200 and its not enough. Cinelerra does have renderfarm capability, but there again, you need a lot of horsepower lying around for 30fps.

scott
Scott Frase is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 04:28 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 44
Oh goodness, I don't need to render at 30fps, I just want a playback rate fast enough that I can make sure my audio is synced and my actors can do their ADR. I can save rendering for later. I just know that the little bit I've played with on my old 1.4ghz box (which will soon be upgraded, hence the question) has only given me about 8fps, which isn't really enough for good editing.
Joel Kreisel is offline  
Old March 8th, 2006, 06:35 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 48
Quick answer: simple playback of 720P without effect rendering is fine on a box like my main one: P4, 3.2Ghz, 1GB PC3200 with IDE RAID stripe set. Playback did stutter a bit on my P4, 1.8Ghz, 1GB box without striping, but with SCSI.
Scott Frase is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network