Various posts concerning GR-HD1U and JY-HD10U - Page 15 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 2nd, 2004, 08:57 PM   #211
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 105
I've done this successfully. I recall it being tight but it works.
Craig Jones is offline  
Old January 11th, 2004, 06:40 AM   #212
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 124
Focal Distance for the HD10

hello people

i want to ask something to the hd10 owners.

how is the focal distance for the hd10?

i mean, if i put something in the front of the hd10 lens, at the widest, from what distance will the camcorder focus the sharpness?

2 cm? 3 cm?

ciao
Daniel Moloko is offline  
Old January 11th, 2004, 12:26 PM   #213
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Daniel,

Let's say it will focus as close as you can physically get. Camera shadow is in the way. JVC has interesting feature - TELE-MACRO. When switched on, and zoomed all the way in, best focus is about 2 feet. This is about as close as you can get with regular macro - and no camera shadow!
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
Old January 11th, 2004, 02:25 PM   #214
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 390
Preston Microforce Zoom Control?

Does anyone know if you can use a Microforce zoom control with the HD10? Since it has been pointed out that geared follow focus or zoom controls won't work, I'm wondering if it has a jack that will respond to a nice electronic zoom control?
Robert Jackson is offline  
Old January 13th, 2004, 02:38 PM   #215
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Anyone care to field this one?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old January 13th, 2004, 02:50 PM   #216
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, California
Posts: 97
JVC does not support LANC connectors which is usually the type of jack required for outboard controls.
__________________
Ray
Raymond Krystof is offline  
Old January 14th, 2004, 12:34 AM   #217
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 19
a litte frame grab on hd10 dvx100e trv27

http://home.primus.ca/~iamdragon/test.JPG

all were shot at DV mode, interlaced, auto.
the dvx one is obvious, which one is hd10? :)
Diu Hai is offline  
Old January 14th, 2004, 08:13 AM   #218
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Why such smallish pics? You trying to hide something in the image?
Yang Wen is offline  
Old January 17th, 2004, 01:47 AM   #219
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
3 questions about the HD10

I'm seriously considering buying the JY HD-10U despite the fact that it's NTSC when in SD - I find the HD on a palmheld very too seductive, especially for the non intrusive film I want to shoot...

Three questions

1. A guy from JVC let me have a look at the camera the other day and I asked about Mini DV tapes - any types I shouldn't use, or whatever. He acknowledged that all types worked but warned me strictly against Sony Mini DV 'with the red stripe'. Posters on this forum seem to be fine with Sony Mini DV tapes!

2. JVC seem open and honest about the camera. I appreciate this, but find it a little confusing when they say:

'Would 3 CCDs be superior to 1 CCD? For absolute picture quality, yes. But there are practical trade-offs. 3 CCDs would provide superior accuracy of color reproduction, and would provide superior resolution for same density of CCD. However, the 3 CCD camera would be larger, heavier and draw more power which requires a larger battery. The 3 CCD camera would also cost more. '

Wouldn't it cost less? Or would the 3 Chips cameras selling everywhere that cost less not be so good, not be the subject of their little comparison? Would the picture quality actually be better? Wouldn't HD just be better?! It seems a vague statement, but perhaps it's my understanding that's vague


3. If I only want to shoot atmos, but atmos is important, is the implanted mic sufficient? How bad is it?


Thanks for the friendly forum.
Graham Jones is offline  
Old January 18th, 2004, 11:10 AM   #220
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Graham, I moved your post into this new thread since you are
posting a new question. I also enabled your e-mail notification
so you are notified of this.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old January 18th, 2004, 12:03 PM   #221
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 33
Filter (ND) placement...

I am about to purchase a Kenko KNW-05 wide angle adapter (WA) for my HD1...I hope there is not vigeneting (if there is please tell me and save me some $$$)...

But my questions is really this...Should I buy and place ND filters in front of the WA or behind???

I can purchase 52mm ND filters for about $15-20 each and then put the WA infront of that. But I am affraid that the extra lenght may produce some cut off (Vigeneting) when I put the WA in front of such a thick filter.

I may also buy an 82mm ND filter (about $40-70 each) and put them in front of WA but again I am affraid of the Vigeneting since the WA is so wide.

Which do you think would be better...I rather buy the 52mm since they are cheaper....

Carlos
Carlos Salcedo is offline  
Old January 18th, 2004, 12:43 PM   #222
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Southern Cal-ee-for-Ni-ya
Posts: 608
Keep the W.A. lens as close to the camera lens as possible to avoid vignetting.
-Les
Les Dit is offline  
Old January 19th, 2004, 11:08 AM   #223
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 236
Anyone using a UV/Haze filter? Would this be a necessary filter for the HD1/HD10?

Thanks.

Troy
Troy Lamont is offline  
Old January 19th, 2004, 12:01 PM   #224
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 66
I use this filter on any camera. It's a cheap filter that can save a lens from dirt, scratches, etc...Unless I need to stack other filters on I will keep the UV/Haze on at all times. Even while it is in storage.
Mark Jervis is offline  
Old January 19th, 2004, 01:04 PM   #225
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
thanks Rob!
Graham Jones is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network