Various posts concerning GR-HD1U and JY-HD10U - Page 17 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2004, 10:29 PM   #241
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Geoff,
Glad to see you're still giving seminars.

I moved your announcement to the home of those who will be most interested in it.

-Ken-
Ken Tanaka is offline  
Old February 17th, 2004, 05:06 AM   #242
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
zoom focus adapter

I there a zoom and/or focus control adapter for the hd10u like there is for other cams.
Dwight Flynn is offline  
Old February 17th, 2004, 05:45 PM   #243
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
I am making a radio control focus system for the dvx100 camera..it may also fit this camera with little modification...I will keep you posted if you want to send me an email :

oolsen1@ec.rr.com
Obin Olson is offline  
Old February 18th, 2004, 03:00 AM   #244
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Southern Cal-ee-for-Ni-ya
Posts: 608
Just curious how you plan to use such a focus ring wheel?
is it just to make it easier to grab, or are you going to attempt to hit predefined focus set points?
The JVC has some major problems with repeating focus positions, because the focus ring is controlling a servo that is running open loop. There is a lot of non mechanical slop in there.

A simple test to try: Focus on an object from the infinity side, and mark the position. Now rack it to the closeup side , and focus on the same object as before. The two positions are not the same.

-Les
Les Dit is offline  
Old February 26th, 2004, 01:51 PM   #245
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Happy Error Message

Just experienced a real "Pro" feature of the HD10. I was in the middle of shooting, when a "USE HEAD CLEANING TAPE" message appeared. Sure enough, a head was clogged! I used the cleaning tape, checked it out, and continued. It sure saved the day!
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline  
Old February 26th, 2004, 03:08 PM   #246
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Yeah, I like how some of the newer cameras can alert you to that. You may want to go to our Tape Thread and ask which tapes may cause that.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2004, 02:05 PM   #247
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
I agree with you Les, as the camera doesn't really have a true manual focus, it won't be possible to repeat focus positions using the focus ring, except by visual reference combined with manual adjustment. Without a large monitor attached I find it very hard to get extremely accurate focus (that you need for HD) by reference to the LCD screen alone, and the viewfinder might as well not be there for all the use it is, IMO. But this is true of he controls on most consumer level cameras. I find that without an HD monitor attached, the best way to focus is to use the auto focus, zoom in on the object you want to focus on, wait for the auto focus to do it's stuff, and then lock it when focus appears to be achieved. But I'm finding that sometimes even this isn't good enough. ..and of course NEVER leave the auto focus on, it will "hunt " constantly.
It's a whole different world from SD (which now ALL looks out of focus to me).
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old March 4th, 2004, 08:03 AM   #248
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Jpegs of short film Jon Fordham and I did

Here are some pix from Jon's DPing of my short film:

http://www.dvinfo.net/jvc/media/heat...er%20wide2.jpg

http://www.dvinfo.net/jvc/media/heat...%20dinner2.jpg

http://www.dvinfo.net/jvc/media/heat...0on%20tub2.jpg

http://www.dvinfo.net/jvc/media/heat...0at%20car2.jpg

For Jon's complete reviews, click here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=17040

and here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=19828

I'll have footage from the Varicam/HD10 shootout soon. Sorry to everyone for all the delays! I've been BUSY!

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old March 4th, 2004, 11:06 AM   #249
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Thanks for the pics, HM:)
Betsy Moore is offline  
Old March 10th, 2004, 10:03 PM   #250
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los angeles
Posts: 7
HD10u get hot during playback and audio & video quit

After doing about 3 hours of playback (HD) & encode, the camera quit sending audio.

I powered it down and back up and it played normal for several minutes more then both video & audio went out. Time code moved but nothing came out.

I picked it up and noticed the bottom was very hot.

I'm giving it the night off.


I have shot with it for an entire day and not noticed it getting overly warm. all cameras get warm/hot when shooting.

I searched but found no posts about this.

Anyone?
__________________
Dale Larsen
Dale Larsen is offline  
Old March 11th, 2004, 01:55 PM   #251
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I haven't had any of those problems, so you may have a unique problem. I would recommend calling JVC tech support ASAP!

But that doesn't mean someone else may not have similar problems like this. Anyone else out there experiencing this situation?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old March 12th, 2004, 11:57 AM   #252
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 236
Darker?

Has anyone noticed that the component outs from these cameras is a little on the dark side?

I've turned my LCD down on the camera itself because I don't think it really representative of the component picture to my HD set.

Anyone else?

Troy
Troy Lamont is offline  
Old March 12th, 2004, 01:59 PM   #253
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Sony affordable HD? Is this a confirmation?

Saw this via Bob Turner's The Cut:

http://news.sel.sony.com/pressrelease/4468

What do y'all think?

Is it the same as this camera:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=21325

But David Newman said it's probably not an HD camera...

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old March 12th, 2004, 04:16 PM   #254
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I haven't noticed anything, but I'll double check.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old March 12th, 2004, 04:17 PM   #255
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
I said it was not HDV camera. It is HD POV camera.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network