JVC gy-hd200 performance - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2007, 09:24 AM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
Hi Akbar Ukani and all!

I just bought the JVC 5100 camcorder (used) from a company. They say it has approx 10 hours on the ehads and has been used three times. For some reason, I can not white balance the camcorder? I'm pretty new to this stuff, and this camcorder is pretty advanced for e.

Can anyone offer any tips for achieving the best image? White balance?

Akbar,
how does your image look so good? How do you white balance? I hope I didnt bite off more than I can chew :(

Last edited by Kim Swift; December 8th, 2007 at 09:24 AM. Reason: NAME OF CAMCORDER
Kim Swift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2007, 10:41 AM   #32
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I learned the hard way. When the shot is irreplaceable...never rely on firewire. Back it with tape.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2008, 06:48 AM   #33
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 12
probably an oddball question about the HD200

I posted this on another thread before I found this one. Hopefully, someone has some insight:

1. I like what I'm reading about the HD200, it sounds like a good unit. However, I need to know if it can be tweaked to closely match a Panasonic AG-DV200p about 3-4 times a year.

2. I edit with Xpress Pro, and Avid tells me it'll accept 720p/60 from the HD200, but I can't find the camera on their list of approved devices. I read on a forum that the camera must be connected to the host firewire port instead of the Mojo during capture, but can anyone out there confirm success in getting Xpress Pro to communicate with the GY-HD200U? Were you able to batch-capture? Any tips, tricks, or warnings for me?

3. Lastly, has anyone tried putting the HD200 on a Manfrotto Fig Rig? Was it worth the expense?


Looking forward to your input.

thanks.

tim
Tim J. Matteson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2008, 10:49 AM   #34
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
Tim: your questions really belong in a new thread (unlike some actual new threads...)
Quickly...
1/ yes, if you do it yourself (hint use a quality colorchart)
2/ Avid does not play nicely with 720p HDV. You'll need to transcode footage, or capture with hardware (choose time-consuming or expensive) with AVID.
3/ These cameras don't have image stabilizing and are too big to be practical with the figrig. Also, it's not a taste for everybody - personally I'd look at alternatives.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2008, 11:02 AM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
Re low light with the hd200 - it's the 3rd page and I can't beleive no one mentioned...
Tim Dashwoods scene file presets. The one for low light REALLY WORKS.
It's very clean, preserves color. Looks better than adding gain, but you can add gain as well, although here it's a bit more grainy than grain alone (with added light).
Chip size doesn't always correlate directly to better light performance, but going to HD seems to be an across the board decrease in low-light performance. The tricks to work in reduced light are covered pretty well here, but then, I was using these with my GY-DV500 already, which was an awesome low-light performer already. There is an adjustment to the point you say "there is not enough light to take good video"
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2008, 12:03 PM   #36
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Adair View Post
Re low light with the hd200 - it's the 3rd page and I can't beleive no one mentioned...
Tim Dashwoods scene file presets. The one for low light REALLY WORKS.

100% Sean..
Eric Gulbransen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2008, 10:16 PM   #37
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 12
thanks Sean

Thanks so much for your input, Sean. Item #2 was not what I wanted to hear, but definitely what I needed to hear.
Since I'm already committed to Xpress Pro for post, do you have any suggestions, or should I abandon all hope of editing HD?

tim
Tim J. Matteson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network