BNC vs SDI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 7th, 2007, 04:04 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
BNC vs SDI

hey guys,

is there a need to get a dedicated SDI cable, or is it simply that SDI cables are BNC's, but of a higher quality? And therefore can you get a BNC cable to feed video to a live feed for a event?

Thanks

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 05:35 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
you mix two things that are totally different.
BNC is a plug format, SDI is a signal transport format.
Since SDI usually uses coaxial cable that use most of time BNC plug, you can say there is remote link between the two, but that is all.
Composite video is usually transported by coaxial cable too, and again coxial goes well together with BNC (but composite video often use CINCH plug).
So, if you need to transport video, coaxial cable is a good choice should it be in SDI format or any other format.
SDI is a digital format, so it is not a video format. It means you need to decode SDI to display the video it contains. it is pretty expensive.
composite video on the other hand is video, so any basic monitor will be able to display, while this signal has some weakness regarding quality.
You could imagine to transport video into an SDI signal and output it as composite video, but that would be silly.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 06:26 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Letch View Post
hey guys,

is there a need to get a dedicated SDI cable, or is it simply that SDI cables are BNC's, but of a higher quality? And therefore can you get a BNC cable to feed video to a live feed for a event?
You need good quality cable with BNC connectors that is meant for SDI work. Moreso if using HDSDI due to the data rates involved. Resistance per foot and inter conductor capacitance per foot will contribute to signal degradation without using the proper cable.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 06:48 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
thanks Giroud

So many things to learn in this trade, I saw two items on BHPhoto which got me asking. Appreciate your time and response.

Regards

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 06:50 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Thanks Greg

I was under the impression that SDI was good for 200ft? Do they have signal boosters like with networking that you can have in the chain, I suppose if they exist they would induce to much noise?

Regards

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network