Final cut pro 6.0.2 Support hdv 50p and 60p native. Yeeeeahh at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2007, 06:52 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SPAIN
Posts: 31
Final cut pro 6.0.2 Support hdv 50p and 60p native. Yeeeeahh

Yes, final cut pro 6.0.2 now with 720/50 60p native support, for editing in mac. Good news for HD200 series users.
Javier Tabares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 01:40 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 112
Some more info:

50p Support

Along with support for a number of recent 50p video formats, Final Cut Pro 6.0.2 includes support for 50 fps timecode in all timecode fields and project properties. A new 50 @ 25 timecode format has been added for deck support and EDL compatibility with 50 fps formats.

Note: Motion, Color, and Soundtrack Pro now support 50p footage as well.

720p50 and 720p60 HDV Tape-Based Device Support

In Final Cut Pro 6.0.2, you can now capture from and output to JVC 720p50 and 720p60 HDV tape-based devices.
Marc Jayson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 08:30 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
DR-HD100 50/60p

at the recent JVC pro-hd seminar in NYC, we were told to expect this - and it came right on time! Another important thing to add to the "unofficial" mill is that JVC claim there will be a firmware upgrade for the DR-HD100 firestore to support 50p/60p quicktime capture within "a couple of weeks from apples update".

Very good news for those 200/250 owners with DR-HD100's. This won't be applicable to the FS-4hd units unfortunately.

...and now Tim can add those final items into his DVD and release it already - I think this was one of the things he was hoping to be resolved beforehand.
Make that a sticky Tim, or make sure to email all of us who expressed interest!
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 01:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
so does that mean FCP can also now capture 480p at 60fps?
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 02:29 PM   #5
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Humphrey View Post
so does that mean FCP can also now capture 480p at 60fps?
Damn good question. I'm sure Apple wasn't thinking about SLOMO. Try creating a Capture Preset and see if FCP will do what you want.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007, 01:09 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
the release notes did say improved 720P support overall, so I'm going to try some capture tests. maybe the dreaded spurious TC break errors bug has been fixed, as well as how picky FCP is with even small D.O.'s.... well one can hope.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007, 01:35 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Oakley View Post
the release notes did say improved 720P support overall, so I'm going to try some capture tests. maybe the dreaded spurious TC break errors bug has been fixed, as well as how picky FCP is with even small D.O.'s.... well one can hope.
Please post what you find out I have not had any problems with breaks so far but my takes are not extremly long so if you find out any different I would like to know. Also for the record I use the sony pro tapes to record I think that also helps.
Gary Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 12:57 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
FCP digitizes HDV over firewire as ProRes on the fly too!

I can confirm that FCP can now digitize HDV over firewire as ProRes regular or high on a MacPro 8 core on Tiger.

Caveats...

Capture now only
Clips are broken up with each take
TC is NOT accurate (first clip is fine but everything after starts at zero for each take).
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network