720p50 to dv-pal at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 29th, 2007, 02:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Herning, Denmark
Posts: 45
720p50 to dv-pal

Hi!
I have done a documentary shot in 720p50.
One of the places i deliver to needs to get it on DVCAM.
So what is the best way to go from 720p50 to dv-pal.
I tried via compressor to make a dv-pal compression. But it looks a bit jittery.
I think it is because of the conversion from 50 fps to 25 fps...

Any ideas how to do it right??
__________________
Greetings from
Henrik
dBA MEDIA
www.dba-media.com
Henrik Helms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Hi Henrik,

What kind of software did you use, as it otherwise is difficult to help. And PC or Mac?
In theory this should be very smooth in DV-Pal, as it also has 50 frames but interleased instead of progressive. If it looks like 25 frames you need to tweak a setting in your software.
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2007, 06:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Yes please

can someone help with this. I just shot an event using 720 50p, thinking good slow motion, good with fast panning, didn't think how to get it on a DVD in PAL land, as I'm not really strong with my post work yet.

Thanks in advance

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 02:12 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Herning, Denmark
Posts: 45
System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Colemont View Post
Hi Henrik,

What kind of software did you use, as it otherwise is difficult to help. And PC or Mac?
In theory this should be very smooth in DV-Pal, as it also has 50 frames but interleased instead of progressive. If it looks like 25 frames you need to tweak a setting in your software.
Sorry I forgot to put that into the mail
I am working on FCP the latest edition.

I also thought it should be very smooth - but all the motion is jittering.
__________________
Greetings from
Henrik
dBA MEDIA
www.dba-media.com
Henrik Helms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 06:51 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Hi Henrik,

I have no FCP, so I cannot help you further with this one.
I personally use the HDlink software from Cineform to convert the edited files.
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 01:33 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Herning, Denmark
Posts: 45
Anybody else??

Does anybody else know the best way?
I ended up putting it out to betacam though my KONA card where the card downconverted for me realtime - this looks fine.
But if I had to go through firewire to my dvcam machine. What would then be my sequence or compressor setting to get a fine result to convert from 720p50 to DVCAM 25 fps
__________________
Greetings from
Henrik
dBA MEDIA
www.dba-media.com
Henrik Helms is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network