Checking hours on an HD110U? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2008, 09:13 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 11
Checking hours on an HD110U?

ok,here's the story, you may find it stupid, I personally feel it is.

I bought a GY HD110U around august last year from US with 5500USD, well, it's still cheaper than what the local dealer offered me. Unfortunately, I realised my country use PAL instead of NTSC. I don know much about videography, don laugh.

Now I'm going to sell away this new camcorder on ebay or somewhere, anyone can tell me how to check the headhour for this camcorder? I want to show my customers that my camcorder is really unused.
Xiao Yao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 10:12 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Hi, hour meters are easily accessible from the menu. However, before you sell it, at least consider, if you haven't already, that provided you shoot in 720p, you're not shooting in PAL or NTSC. Frankly the PAL/NTSC thing is so 1990's.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 10:16 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 291
Hello:
bring up the menu on the camera.

goto (OTHERS) on the MENU

Then go to NEXT PAGE

on the bottom you will see

DRUM HOURS/FAN HOURS

THIS WILL TELL HOW MUCH TIME IS ON THE CAMERA

Also you can just go to page 80 in your manual

Joe

Last edited by Joseph A. Benoit; January 21st, 2008 at 12:48 AM.
Joseph A. Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 10:54 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Xiao Yao

Brian is correct. I live in the NTSC country of The Philuppines. I got a European model HD100E. This had no effect whatsoever in my work since HDV and today's NLE are agnostic to either PAL or NTSC.
DONT use DV. Just use HDV. Even for SD work use the 480P HDV of your cam and your good to go.

No need to sell it. Its a good buy.

Ted
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 11:22 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Ramasola View Post
Xiao Yao


No need to sell it. Its a good buy.

Ted
To follow this up, according to the JVC website, if your intent is to deliver SD DVD, you're better off downconverting from HDV as opposed to originating in DV because HDV and DVD use the same 4.2.0 color space.
Keep your camera bro.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 11:58 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 11
thankz so much dudes!!! I finally realised I must hold the menu button in order to access the menu...hehe, drum hour is 0.

um...so ntsc/pal doesnt really matter if I shoot in HDV. Cool,guess I gotta go for training in order to handle this camcorder. It's not as user friendly as miniDV...
Xiao Yao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 01:35 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin and Geneva
Posts: 258
On the contrary it's quite user-friendly but it's a professional thing as opposed to most mini-dv. and it has awsome capabilities.
Take the time to read the manual thouroughly and schedule some practice shooting - you'll see, it's great.
Good luck !
Claude Mangold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 05:11 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,268
Right. HD is HD. It doesn't matter if you PAL or NTSC. But just remember, if you are shooting to convert to PAL SD, use HDV 25p or 50p and you will be fine.
But no real reason to sell the camera, as already pointed. Have fun!
Michael Maier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 03:27 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 30
Just remember, it is a PROGRESSIVE camera and you cannot just swing the camera here and there and zoom as you wish... your footage will look terrible... You will need to think like shooting a film camera and learn the different approach with zooms framing and panning...
Maxene Kuek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2008, 11:12 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
hehe - I can swing my camera like a monkey when in 60p!
480/60p too - it's frame rate, not progressive to blame.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network