Does the 200 like DV mode? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2008, 11:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amherst, OH
Posts: 134
Does the 200 like DV mode?

I'm getting use to my new 200 and shot a couple of things early on in Dv mode using brand new Sony DVM stock, and both times in the first 2-4 minutes, I'm getting what looks like bad head clog and then it clears up.

I noticed something in the manual about rolling a couple of minutes off in the front, but dang this scares the you know what now having to worry if I got enough preroll going.

Is this a normal kind of thing? Does using the HDV tape stock ( which I've got, just didn't want to use it on a regular DV shoot) reduce these 'issues'
John Sirb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 12:16 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
I've shot plenty of straight DV without any issues.
It might be a tape stock issue. Are you using Sony HDV tape as well?
Changing brands can cause head clogs. The beginning of a tape is always a bit risky (another reason to run bars and black, which you can do automatically with the camera with a cute shortcut).
Clean the heads and maybe use a different type of tape. The tape can be even more of an issue with HDV.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 12:57 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney New South Wales
Posts: 34
[QUOTE=Sean Adair;815681]
Changing brands can cause head clogs.

Hi John,

Changing brands of stock should always be done with a head cleaning tape as the change in formula will cause corruption 9 times out of ten.

I have found the Panasonic pro stock to be the best for the JVC cameras from the 101 up to the 251. It is slightly cheaper than the JVC stock also.

Allan
Allan Coy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 10:02 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amherst, OH
Posts: 134
thanks Sean & Allan.
I guess the reason I'm a tad concerned is 1) I've shot a ton of this same tape stock on the DSR-300 / PD-150, & 170 and haven't seen an issue like this before. and 2) the 200 had roughly 5 minutes of time on the heads before the first tape I had an issue with.
__________________
John Sirb
Lake Breeze Video
John Sirb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 10:34 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 291
Hello i used panasonic tapes on my Canon XL1S/ Sony FX1/ JVC HD110U
When i was using Tape on MY 110 only shoot tape less now

i used Panasonic AY-DVM60EJ tapes for DV/HDV NEVER had a problem
on any of my cameras, In DV/HDV mode Dv only XL1S

Joe
Joseph A. Benoit is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network