New Upgrade 3.0 for DR-HD100, Support 50p/60p in quicktime native at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2008, 07:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SPAIN
Posts: 31
New Upgrade 3.0 for DR-HD100, Support 50p/60p in quicktime native

Focus Enhancements Adds QuickTime 720p 50 & 60 Support for Final Cut Pro Users with DR-HD100 Version 3.0

The new version 3.0 firmware update enables owners of JVC GY-HD200 and HD250 ProHD camcorders to record 720p 50 and 60 files directly to DR-HD100 in QuickTime format—further streamlining the production process with the direct import of files into Final Cut Pro version 6.0.2.

"With the version 3.0 update from Focus Enhancements, the DR-HD100 is able to provide the fastest and most efficient professional HD 60p and 50p editing available today," states Craig Yanagi, National Marketing Manager of Creation Products, JVC Professional Products Company. "Our continuous close engineering collaboration has resulted in the development of this revolutionary high definition recording and editing workflow solution."

In addition to QuickTime 720p 50 & 60 support, DR-HD100 version 3.0 adds auto-reel functionality to help streamline the production process by ensuring users can easily identify clips in the editing system. With auto-reel, users can assign clips to pre-named reel folders on disk. Once a reel has been selected, all subsequent clips will automatically be placed in the same reel until the user selects a new clip or disables the auto-reel function.

Version 3.0 is now available for $39 on the Focus Enhancements website, www.focusinfo.com. You can contact Focus directly at sales@focusinfo.com or 800.338.3348.
Javier Tabares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2008, 11:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Can I get an "Aahhmen!"
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 02:08 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 69
man...talk about something being long overdue!!...but good thing its finally here!
Akbar Ukani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 06:53 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 112
"Aahhmen!"

;-)
Marc Jayson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 12:49 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
They really shouldn't be charging people for this imo.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 05:41 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
agree with Mark

first BIOS update I've ever seen with anything where they charge you!

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 06:46 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 3
They charged for the previous update to 2.0 firmware as well.
Greg E. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 09:29 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Ok then

before I bought my unit. Still poor though, cmon firestore people, you'll be competing against convergent design and the colorspace people soon, so don't undermind your good product by being greedy!
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 06:12 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 112
I installed 3.0.2 and I have this strange problem with FCP.

I made a test recording 720p50 (QT) and tried to import it in FCP. FCP thinks that it is an audio file! Motion and Quicktime Player don't have a problem with the file and play the recording correctly.

Someone else having this problem?
Marc Jayson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 11:38 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 21
same problem

I had this same problem on FCP 5.1.4 on a power book, but when I brought the same files into FCP 6.2 on my Mac Pro they functioned normally.
They showed up on the powerbook as audio files, in both FCP 5.1.4 and In Quicktime.
No Idea, why as of yet
__________________
Simon Reilly
Simon Reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 05:02 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon Reilly View Post
I had this same problem on FCP 5.1.4 on a power book, but when I brought the same files into FCP 6.2 on my Mac Pro they functioned normally.
They showed up on the powerbook as audio files, in both FCP 5.1.4 and In Quicktime.
No Idea, why as of yet
I just came back to the studio and I tried it again, I don't know why but it works now :-0

Btw I'm also using FCP 6.0.2
Marc Jayson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 03:02 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 10
How is the upgrade supplied? I've just purchased it, but I can't see any information about whether they'll email or post it to me. It's been about half an hour and I haven't had any email notifying me of anything.

I'm guessing the emails are processed manually and I need to wait until business hours start in the US, but I would have expected an auto reply to acknowledge the order at least.

Also, with the V2 upgrade, if you bought the unit after V2 released, did you still have to pay for the upgrade? I just purchased the unit today but I couldn't find any info on whether I'm entitled to a free upgrade so I assumed not and paid for it.

Thanks,

Dan
Daniel Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 03:38 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 112
You'll get a Yousendit download link, the mail was located in my Junk folder! So pay extra attention to the Junk folder.
Yes you still have to pay, I bought mine with v2 installed.
Marc Jayson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network