SD HDV 480p 60fps ever for FCP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2008, 03:57 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
SD HDV 480p 60fps ever for FCP?

Hello, just wondering if anyone with the latest FCP has support now for capturing and editing JVC's SD HDV 480p HDV at 60fps since apple has been upgraded to handle 720p at 60fps?
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2009, 09:43 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
was bored today and came up with an answer if anyone still cares about SD HDV 480p 60fps off of JVC HD1, 10 and HD100/110 series cameras into Final Cut Pro.

My goal was to try out the 60p widescreen, slow it down to 24p (extending the time, not just dropping frames) and make decent slow motion on a mac platform. So much for macs ALWAYS being simpler than PC's. they are not always. So this is the method I came up with today. (I wanted to do some slow motion stuff soon)

1. OK shoot SD HDV 480p 60fps... DUH... on a JVC HD 1/10/100/110
2. Capture via iMovie. (FCP still doesn't and will never recognize this format)
3. Spark up Cinema Tools (FCP Studio 1 is what I have)
4. Batch Conform (Cinema Tools/File/Batch Conform/ (pick your footage clip) pick your frame rate (24)) Enter
5. open up your new slow motion conformed clip in your Quick Time Pro.
6. Export out of Quick Time Pro the clip as a quicktime movie 720p 24fps HDV.
7. Import the new clip into your new 24p 720p (60p 480p slowed down and uprezed original) HDV timeline in Final cut pro and it should look pretty good next to your normal 24fps 720p footage...
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 09:57 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
Alex can moon walk!

trying to upload 10 seconds of video.... sorry, it aint happening on this here broadband in kaliforn-ia

Last edited by Alex Humphrey; August 23rd, 2009 at 11:44 PM.
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2009, 01:03 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
I loaded some SD 480/60p via the HDV->ProRes preset and it worked... FCP6.0.6 and 10.6.1

I was also able to load it via HDMI into my MXO2. seems like the deck might actually upres it as it reports back as 1280 native clips.... you still have to go use cinematools to set the frame rate to 24FPS, but that takes only a minute. its pretty cool because I'm going to use it this week for a shoot.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network