How can I get 720p 59.94 from my HD100? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 13th, 2008, 12:07 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
The bottom of that second page is very direct. Don't change the resolution!
All files will be output to theaters at 720p/59.94.
The only thing to worry about will be getting the proper pulldown cadence from the 24p. If it's at 30p, it will simply double each frame.
Both will look and work fine, the amount of motion in your footage and appropriateness of cinematic feel would help determine which is more suitable.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 12:10 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Pulldown?

It seems I would loose half the frames since it is progressive.

or could you recomend a pulldown N# I should try?

seems like the idea of upresizing would be better.

I just dont know!

Thx Im getting some options "really helps"
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 12:12 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
I see that!

So I can shoot agian at 30p then figure out the right pulldown?
Should I cut down on motion then?
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork

Last edited by Steven Houser; March 13th, 2008 at 12:14 AM. Reason: added
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 04:16 AM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
This is not to answer your questions directly. However, the post two above says no change of resolution is allowed, so you cannot uprez.

Again, I am not the expert on which to shoot, 24p or 30p. However, what will happen is the 24p or 30p video will be put in the appropriate video stream by adding pulldown, just like movies are put on DVD.

The result will look like the original. but this will be accomplished with a 2:3:3:2 (e.g. for 24p) or a 2:2:2:2 (for 30p) presentation of the frames.

Shooting 30p will probably make things the simplest. It will also make camera movement less of an issue than when shooting 24p.

In any case, someone else will have to tell you what software with what settings you need to use, but it shouldn't be a problem.

Are you using a Mac?
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 08:19 AM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Check that the pull-down is properly constructed

What would be the proper pulldown?

Thx for all the help!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 09:25 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Nle Pc

I see the pulldown note!

Thx this has really helped!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 10:27 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
Keep 720p - that is clear, right? You have to supply an uncompressed quicktime (I don't know the length - might fit on DVD, maybe on a firewire drive) at 59.94fps.
If you start from 30fps (the highest frame rate of the HD100) it divides evenly into 60, and this is likely to produce best results (each frame duplicated).
This will look the same as your 30p footage. Easy.
Using 24fps footage, pulldown, or a staggered effect results from the uneven distribution of the original frames into 60fps. It isn't necessarily a bad thing. This is the "film look" - feature movies are shot at 24fps too, and when we watch them on video, this same pulldown occurs, we are used to it, and in fact unconsciously identify it with movies. However, I'm not sure how to ensure the "cadence" or distribution of these frames will occur with your system and software. It might be fine just with an export to quicktime in this format. You may want to start a new thread asking that question, if you decide to go this route.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 12:56 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
I will stay 72030p

So I need to uncompress the m2t file then do the 2:2:2:2 (for 30p) pulldown?
Then bring it into my comp that is 720 59.94?

also I bought dvfilm maker for the uncompression but it crashes at start up..

Is there another way to uncompress the files?
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network