I need some advice at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17th, 2008, 06:07 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
I need some advice

I have 2 GY-HD100s I have a very small (tight budget) wedding buisness. When I bought the cameras I intended on going tapeless one day well that dream was crushed when I blew both firewire ports. Now its going to cost $600-$1,000 to fix each port. I recently saw a new Panasonic camera that clearly isnt as strong as a GY-HD100 but for the price I could sell both my cameras and get these new ones. They are 1080i and already tapeless.
http://catalog2.panasonic.com/webapp...Model=AG-HMC70
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2008, 06:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
I doubt a bit that you will get the money that you want, by selling damaged camera's...
__________________
Marc Colemont - Belgium - http://www.mc-productions.be
JVC GY-HM850's, HM890, HM600
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2008, 07:13 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
yeah, thats part of the problem. I still think there worth $2,500+ each. See I never got up the money for a deck yet either so if I wanted to go HD now I couldnt.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2008, 07:55 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
here is an odd thought... I think the JVC HD1 and JVC HD10 can play 24p as well as 30p and use that as a capture deck. Just a thought.. those run $500-$800 used. I would just fix one of your camcorders and get a 4to6 pin firwire converter and to make sure you camcorder is OFF when connecting.
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2008, 07:56 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
Do you know where I can get one?!?!
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2008, 10:29 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 291
Hi Randy
you got 2 Pro Cameras

that panasonic is entry level, plus its using 1/4 chips

to me you would be stepping down

i would get 1 fix .

also is the panasonic a fix lense

i love my 110 and i have the DR hd100

its just my opinon Randy

I understand you have to do what's best you

good luck what ever you do

Joe
Joseph A. Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 08:14 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 636
Randy,

Definitely get a port isolator: http://fwdepot.com/thestore/product_...roducts_id/356

At the wedding, the client may not no the difference between the two cameras, but you would. The jvc is an efficient tool and I wouldn't move to a consumer camera. Also, if you start picking up corporate work you'll be much better off with the jvc. Just my thoughts.

Ben
Ben Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 08:45 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
Thanks guys I know your all right its just killing me right now. I think im going to stay tape with theses cameras. I have a Sony DSR-30 im going to sell and take the money I would have put into the HD-100s and get the JVC BR-HD50. At least if I do that I wont be hooking and un hooking firewire ports. I will keep these for my normal 5 years I thinik when I do go tapeless it will be som e kind of "Built in" system and not an external drive. I can see this new ADVCintra format or what ever its called being huge if its developed right. Just imagine our JVCs with using just a SD card that can be read in any off the shelf card reader, now thats cool.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 09:00 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
HELLO! Plan C!
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...table_VTR.html

I do 24p so this is a winner unless you guys can see a problem.

Randy
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 12:23 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 291
hi Randy
are you sure that this deck does 24p
you would be spending almost $1100.00
for $300.00 more you can get the Dr HD 100 no deck needed.
Or when when you get the 100 fix you can use that as your deck
this way you can go tapeless or dr hd100 or both
Joseph A. Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 01:06 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Johnson View Post
HELLO! Plan C!
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...table_VTR.html

I do 24p so this is a winner unless you guys can see a problem.

Randy
I have this deck. I bought it because I wanted to take the burden off my camera's tape mechanism during editing. It kinda does 24p. It won't display it on a monitor, but you can capture 24p without preview from this deck and hdvsplit recognizes it.
Tup Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 04:26 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
Im sorry I must have gotten excited I meant to type "I DONT do 24p" but if it lets me capture 24p so much the better. Tup are you happy with the deck? Does it work well? Durable?
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 05:29 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 83
Jvc Cu Vh1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Johnson View Post
Im sorry I must have gotten excited I meant to type "I DONT do 24p" but if it lets me capture 24p so much the better. Tup are you happy with the deck? Does it work well? Durable?
So far so good. I have been shooting everything in HDV these days and this allows me to downconvert via component in 480p and 480i. It does not downconvert via firewire. I thought it did when I bought it. I think originally it was meant as a consumer device.

It's great in the field too as it uses the HD100 batteries and has a small LCD.

It can also pull stills from video tape to a SD card. I bought mine off ebay for about $700. I didn't have $2500 for the br50. Uses 4pin firewire... ;)
Tup Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 05:34 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
your playing my song, When you say it doesnt down convert via Firewire what do you mean?
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 11:37 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 83
It doesn't go from 720p to 480i via firewire
Tup Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network