JVC GY HD200E with tv reportage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 6
JVC GY HD200E with tv reportage

Does any one work with HD200 by tv reportage ? How to set this camcorder to have good, "tv picture" ? Before, I was using SONY DSR 200/250 and I really like this colors. Is there any possibility to set HD200, to get a picture and colors similar to this older SONY ?
Artur

Sorry for not "so clever" question, but I'm learnig now, how to use it camcorder and it isn't so easy.
Artur Spodobalski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 04:15 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Harare Zimbabwe
Posts: 162
Tough call Artur. I shoot news and documentaries on my HD111 all the time, for major broadcasters - BBC, ARD, TV2 and so on - and reckon the picture - in SD - is quite as good as anything I used to get from my last camera, a Sony DXC D30 with a Canon J15 lens and a DV Cam back. I was looking a material I shot a few years ago on a SP Betacam 400 and I think my JVC pictures are equal or better to those in most circumstances. In HDV these cameras make really high quality images.

Without knowing how your camera is set up, I'm not sure what to advise. Have you tried hooking your camera up to a monitor and playing around with the settings? Obviously you want to check your black levels. You may have your viewfinder and LCD screen set in such a way that you are not opening the aperture on your lens enough. With the stock Fujinon 16x lens on my camera there is a very definite "Sweet Spot" between f4 and f11, and if you go outside that the picture does degrade. But you sound like an experienced operator, so I'm sure you're not making mistakes like that.

There's a huge amount you can do to the image in the menus. Maybe you just need to spend a morning playing with settings and see if you can find a set up you like?

Best wishes and good luck!

Rob Adams
Robert Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2008, 08:35 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 6
Thank's Rob for yours reply ! First day when I got it camcorder I've connected it to monitor and I've checked all settings, I think :) I see, there is so many possibility to set it and I hope I will set it somehow. I just need a time and a few breaking news :)
Thank's a lot.
Artur
Artur Spodobalski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network