JVC HD100 & Black Magic Intensity Pro Card at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2008, 03:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
JVC HD100 & Black Magic Intensity Pro Card

For some reason the Firewire out on my JVC HD100 doesnt work anymore. I've tried 2 different cables and my Mac Pro doesnt see the camera.

he connection seems very loose - so I can only assume that something is wrong with my FW connections on the camera itself. My Mac Pro is brand new and it will see any other camcorder via FW all day long.

I just ordered the Black Magic Intensity Pro card so that I can import via HDMI. This card also comes with analog inputs (S-Video, Composite and Component).

My question is can I use the Component Out on the JVC HD100 and import Video & Sound instead of the Firewire out?

Thanks for your time.
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 04:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Yes you can capture the component and audio in sync but:
- you will loose time-code
- analog capture vs digital data will add noise
- and you need to invest in that capture card, unless you need it for other sources then the HD100.

The repair maybe costs less then the investment in that card?
__________________
Marc Colemont - Belgium - http://www.mc-productions.be
JVC GY-HM850's, HM890, HM600
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 05:43 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 150
I'm thinking about the Intensity pro as well. Here are a couple of other options I'm considering. Buying an HD10 to use as a deck (they are around $600-$700 used @ Bhphoto) or having the FW port repaired. I received a quote from www.camcorderrepair.com for $125 parts and labor (seems very low to me). I haven't done either one yet.
George David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 09:18 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Colemont View Post
Yes you can capture the component and audio in sync but:
- you will loose time-code
- analog capture vs digital data will add noise
- and you need to invest in that capture card, unless you need it for other sources then the HD100.

The repair maybe costs less then the investment in that card?
The card is only $300.00 and i would be using it for the HDMI conection from my Sony HVR-HD1000U
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 01:42 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Hello,

Just to let you know i got a card today and it works very well, i am using mainly for color correction and line view of the time line in FCP.

I will test the capture late next week, on my HD 201 via Component and let you now.

Rob.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 04:10 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
Goerge,
How did you get your quote? Did you send in the camea or did they just give you a over the phone estimate? The reason I ask is the prices ive been getting have been in the $800-$1,200+ range. I just got mine back from a guy (not JVC savy) who replaced a chip but it didnt fix it if it did he was going to charge me $600 which is the lowest price ive found.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 06:12 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
Hello,

Just to let you know i got a card today and it works very well, i am using mainly for color correction and line view of the time line in FCP.

I will test the capture late next week, on my HD 201 via Component and let you now.

Rob.
Sounds good! Let me know how the importing works - thanks!
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 09:15 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 150
Randy, I just went to camcorderrepair.com and they have an online quote system. I described the problem in detail and I received an email back within a day. I realized that in something this low, it's better to go there in person. Most of the other quotes I've had were the same as yours ($800 plus). Maybe someone from Woodland Hills has experience with them around here?
George David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 06:39 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
I just got the sme response from them, I am VERY skeptical. Maybe i'll try and call them next week. For $125 id get both of mine fixed.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 10:08 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington, NJ
Posts: 3
how much noise?

you say it will add noise thru the analog. How much? would it still be better than HDV???
Jerry Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 11:06 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
There was a guy here a few months ago, cost him $1400 to replace the firewire board. And a good chunk of that was for the part. $125 sounds like a fantasy.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 09:46 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
Well in his issue they replaced the firewire board, You need to find a place that does board level repairs. The guy I tried replaced he texas instruments firewire chip but it didint do it. I wonder what else it could be?Even if you find someone who can fix it doing a board level repair its very labor intensive so you looking at $600-$1,200.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network