Why is my audio so low? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 15th, 2008, 07:17 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
Why is my audio so low?

I recently did an interview with my 201. Put one line on auto and the other on manual. The mic was one meter ( 3 feet? away ) On the manual input I couldn`t get higher than about -18 dB. Auto hitting - 30dB. I was using my AKGC1000 mic which has worked fine for ten years. On my Panasonic HVX200 it hit - 6dB.

Any suggestions?

Svein Rune
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 07:31 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I'll assume that you are in fact setting the Audio Input switches to Mic and not Line Level.

In the Menu: Under "Audio/Mic", try changing the "Input x Mic Ref." of the input you are using for your mic.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 09:23 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
there is a setting for -50 or -60db in the audio menu. should be on -60. if you are on -50 that would be a -10db loss

other possibilities - phantom power off & dead battery ? or mic doesn't like phantom power from camera ? bad cable ? pad on mic turned on ?

realistically, that mic is a close up use mic. at 3ft I can't imagine getting anything useful. most mics wouldn't do well at that distance. get the mic closer.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 03:54 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
Shaun. The camera is set to mic 48 phantom power.

Steve. I did try to set it to -60dB. That just added a lof of noise. And the mic does work at this distance. With my old Panasonic DVX100 and Canon XL 1 it worked fine. The sound would normally hit - 6 dB. The cable works fine with my other mics.
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 09:37 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olney, Maryland
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svein Rune Skilnand View Post
Shaun. The camera is set to mic 48 phantom power.

Steve. I did try to set it to -60dB. That just added a lof of noise. And the mic does work at this distance. With my old Panasonic DVX100 and Canon XL 1 it worked fine. The sound would normally hit - 6 dB. The cable works fine with my other mics.
-50 is only for really loud environments. Switch it back to -60. Turn off any automatic gain controls. Using automatic gain raises the noise floor.

You want your dialogue to come in between -20 to -12. You don't need anything going to -6. You will be getting dangerously close to distortion.

And what is your limiter set at?

In a perfect world, you are sending your mics through a quality mixer and coming into the Camera at line level. I would NOT be happy with mic placement that is not under 18" in a interview setting... especially with a carioid pattern.
Jim Boda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 02:02 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Regardless of preference in terms of proximity, one should be able to get over 0dBfs at 3' with a C1000. There is obviously a problem here that we aren't catching.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 02:42 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olney, Maryland
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun Roemich View Post
Regardless of preference in terms of proximity, one should be able to get over 0dBfs at 3' with a C1000. ....
Not if the limiter is turned on.

Please list a detailed account of all your audio settings and switches.

Also, remove the battery from the C1000. Or if the battery is already removed...add the battery and turn "off" phantom power on the JVC 201.
Jim Boda is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network