Pixel Masking...playing JVC doctor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 31st, 2008, 10:22 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 37
Pixel Masking...playing JVC doctor

So I had a dead pixel on my GY-HD100...out of nowhere it appeared. So I looked and looked and found a way to do the pixel mapping...had to do it twice before it dissapeared.

My concern is...is this proceedure a "real" fix or a temporary fix. Is this the same proceedure they would do at a JVC authorized center. Once one apears could I start seeing a occurance of more?
Charles Barreto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 08:27 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Posts: 253
Hi Charles,

If you search the forums this has been dealt with pretty extensively.

My understanding is that dead pixels are a fact of life, that the pixel masking function is exactly what a technician would do, and finally that you could use the function many many times - certainly more times than the life of the camera. I have used it once around 50 hours and there really is no issue.

Rob
Robert Castiglione is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 08:54 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
try to do it on a hot summer day after it's been on for at least 30 minutes in the sun. Heat brings out the dead pixels and makes them more visible. I doubt heat creates them however.
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 12:15 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
one of my colleagues has an HD100 just like mine and whenever he fly's to a foreign country he almost always has new hot pixels from the plane ride.

You have to admit that its really great that JVC allows us to do this.
I remember a Canon GL1 having hot pixels and replacing a ccd block instead of pixel masking at it cost 1,000.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 11:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 37
Can these dead pixels appear while shooting....like lets say that I set my scene and the picture is perfect...can 20 minutes into recording a pixel just go dead?

I've looked around the forum for more info on this but i cant seem to find one that covers in details...the ones i find are the ones of people asking to private message to find out hot to do it...

thanks
Charles Barreto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 11:10 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Posts: 253
I suppose its possible but why fuss about it?

It falls I think into the category of unnecessary anxieties.

Sensible precautions are to regularly check for dead pixels before going out on a shoot on a large enough monitor to actually see them. You just cannot see them on the viewfinder.

Also, dont forget that there are pixel masking plug ins for FCP just in case it does happen so it is not the end of the world.

Rob
Robert Castiglione is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 12:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 37
oh...not fuzzing about it...just wondering. In my search on this usergroup all I have seen in negativity towards this issue and others...like SSE and what have you.

People treat this issue as if were a problem with the camera...so i just want to make sure I don't have to be extra careful. With my other cameras I just set it and forget it...but I was taken back with other user's comments and ill feeling.
Charles Barreto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 10:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 291
Hello
what is the proper proceedure to fix a dead pixel on my 110

Thank You
Joe
Joseph A. Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 11:17 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
Service Menu accessed while in HDV 24p mode by holding the Focus Assist button (the one on the camera body) when you press and hold the Menu/Status button for at least 5 seconds. You must be in 24p mode for this operation.


You see an advanced menu where the second line says CAMERA1. Move the cursor down and push the shutter wheel to enter that menu and now you have a list with the sixth item being PIXEL COMPEN. Move down to it and select that item, the word CANCEL blinks. Change it to EXECUTE and push again. It takes about 10 seconds or so to perform the operation and then tells you to power off the camera. You are done. Make sure Focus Assist is now OFF and exit 24p mode if desired.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network