Slowmotion in FCP, how? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2008, 04:00 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bucharest Romania
Posts: 221
Slowmotion in FCP, how?

Hi great forum,
I have just updated my DR HD 100 to work with 50P,60P footage from the 251 camera. Everything works fine. I import the material in fcp 6.0.3 using a hdv 720p25 timeline. But, how do I get the footage to play at 25 = in slow motion? I didn't find any "interpret footage" command like I used to do in Premiere. Is it enough just to modify the speed to 50%?
Any help is welcome.
Thanks,
Eugen
Eugen Oprina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 04:12 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
If you are shooting at 720P50 and you want it to play back at 720P25 (ie. at HALF speed), do not use the Speed change in FCP. That will just double each frame. You need to use Cinema Tools to set up the captured file to play at 25 fps. I'll let someone else explain the process or you can try it yourself.

Good luck.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 01:08 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bucharest Romania
Posts: 221
Shaun,
I have tried to use cinematools but when I import the file the conform button is grey so I can't use it.
Thanks anyway,
Eugen

PS Any help is welcome!
Eugen Oprina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 01:20 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Hello,
[link deleted by admin]

Since everyone seems to be able to do this, perhaps you have some setting somewhere wrong or are doing something slightly differently.

Is there a difference between "open" and "import"? You mention "import," but all the posts and tutorials I have seen talk about "open" in Cinema Tools.

Did you capture the original clip at 50p? You mention you put the 50p on a 25p timeline. I think it has to be registered (or whatever term is used) as 50p when you open it in Cinema Tools.

I don't use FCP, so I only know what I've read.

Last edited by Jack Walker; June 7th, 2008 at 03:01 PM.
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 04:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bucharest Romania
Posts: 221
It doesn't work. I attached a capture screen of cinema tools.
You can see the file specs in the analisys window.
The conform button is grey!


http://s4.transfer.ro/storage/4e15b153d0.zip
Thanks for your help,
Eugen
Eugen Oprina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 09:48 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
This topic has been covered in great detail here at dvinfo. In fact I remember answering this very question just over a week ago. (Sorry Jack... had to delete the cow link due to dvinfo policy.)

The simple answer as to why Cinema Tools is greying out the conform option is that it is impossible to change the frame rate on a codec that uses B & P frames in a GOP (HDV) so you need to convert to an "all-I-frame" codec like ProRes422 or AIC to utilize Cinema Tools for conforming frame rate. You can use media manager for this if you have captured natively in FCP6.

I have a step-by-step podcast at http://www.dvinfo.net/prohd/Bonus_1.html that details that part of the process about 2/3rds of the way in.

See also this old thread with the process detailed.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 11:49 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Great Bonus, Tim! Thanks for that.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 01:22 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bucharest Romania
Posts: 221
Sorry Tim,
I new the mpegstreamclip workflow but I hoped that I can find a shortcut. It is obvious that in order to slow it down it needs an "I frame only" format.
I am looking forward to flash XDR which can record an "I frame only" format.
Thank you Tim, Shaun and Jack.
E
Eugen Oprina is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network