external monitor for hd100u at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 14th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 425
external monitor for hd100u

Hi- I read through a lot of the external monitor threads, but I wanted to post a specific question anyway.

My main concern using it for focus, particularly when I'm outside.

Just looking for an external monitor for my HD100, I was going to get the Ikan v-7000, but I saw a review on B&H where somebody said it wasn't very good, even for focusing.

I was thinking if it can be had for $300-350, well, it's better than the lcd screen on the camera. Of course, it has to work with the output of the camera.

So what do folks think the Ikan v-7000?

thanks
Dennis Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 11:59 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
I would spend the extra $400 and get the HD version, I think that it is the 8000 model.

Daniel Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 10:08 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 425
Well, that would be best, but I have a laptop with dvrack that I use most of the time. It's only in a few situations I would need that external monitor.

Perhaps more of a rental item.
Dennis Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2008, 06:14 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 425
I'm just gonna show my ignorance here...

Looking seriously at the Ikan v8000. It has BNC inputs? My GY HD100 has RCA outputs. Are these going to work together?
Dennis Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2008, 06:53 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Stevens View Post
I'm just gonna show my ignorance here...

Looking seriously at the Ikan v8000. It has BNC inputs? My GY HD100 has RCA outputs. Are these going to work together?
A simple RCA/BNC adapter will work. You can either adapt the RCA plugs on the camera to BNC and use BNC cables or use cheaper RCA cables and put BNC to female RCA adapters on the monitor.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2008, 07:15 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood View Post
A simple RCA/BNC adapter will work. You can either adapt the RCA plugs on the camera to BNC and use BNC cables or use cheaper RCA cables and put BNC to female RCA adapters on the monitor.
I think I saw those at radio shack before for under $1.50 each... in fact I think my JVC HD10 came with some, why I don't know...
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network