Focus FS-5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11th, 2008, 04:33 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 291
Focus FS-5

Hello
i was wondering if anybody has use the new FOCUS FS-5 DTE.
And whats your opinion,
and how it compares to Dr hd100.
i know the price is high.
Thanks
Joe
Joseph A. Benoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2008, 11:18 AM   #2
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
we have no used the FS-5 with your cam, but so far we are very impressed with it. We put together a nice little FS-5 FAQ http://www.videoguys.com/fs5_faq.html

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2008, 05:35 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
It's an interesting drive but it doesn't record 24p QuickTime and probably doesn't have the integration that the DR-HD100 has with the JVC ProHD cameras. It would be a reasonable guess that JVC will release a version of this drive soon after the FS-5 is introduced.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 11:55 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 1
FS-5 equivalent for JVC GY HD 201 Cameras?

Has anyone tried the FS-5 with a JVC Gy HD 201?

Thanks Guys
Chris

Last edited by Cristian Stefanut; August 26th, 2008 at 12:10 AM. Reason: misspelling
Cristian Stefanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2008, 12:22 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Its coming

Focus said around 6 mos till a full integrated version will be available for the JVC's... Cant wait!
Shawn Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2008, 02:49 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 621
Wish it were cheaper... it's about 2/3 the price of a new HD-110!
__________________
http://www.prolefeedstudios.com/blog/
Documentary for the masses!
Brian Standing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2008, 02:57 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Can some one give me an update, on if this unit will work on an australian JVC 201 most of the time i capture at 720p50.

I film weddings and are looking at doing same day edits, so i like the idea that i can edit as i go during the day.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2008, 01:14 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Creswell Oregon
Posts: 380
Concerns

I'm a little concerned that it says it uses the same hard drive as iPods. I loved that when the hard drive and my old Firestore died I was able to upgrade it quickly and cheaply with a larger laptop hard drive. I know its possible to buy iPod hard drives, but they are a lot more expensive. I'm also concerned about potential heat issues. There are rare stories of iPods overheating after being subjected to extended periods of video playback. I am curious how this device will cope without having a cooling fan in it.

Other then that I am really excited about this device. Not having the file size limit anymore is a HUGE plus for me. Also the ability to ad WiFi networking to it is great- not having to take the drive off the camera and plug it into my computer to transfer video is a nice feature as well.

Something I would like to see in whatever model they come up with that integrates with the ProHD cameras is the ability to generate its own timecode. Right now I can shoot totally tapeless- but each clip has its own timecode that starts at zero. If I want timecode I have to run a tape in the camera.
__________________
My Website - www.nweventvideo.com
Adam Grunseth is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network