Anton Bauer UL2 light at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2008, 07:29 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Anton Bauer UL2 light

I just got a Anton Bauer UL2 light and connected it to the camera. I was testing it and it worked GREAT, but then I accidently turned the camera off and on again while the light was running, and now it doesn't work. Did I blow a fuse somewhere? Any ideas? I'm in dire straights as I was supposed to film tomorrow and needed it for the shoot.

Thank you, as always, for any help you can give me.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 07:37 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
when you say you turned the camera off and on do you mean you actually powered if off then back on? I'll assume so. There is no fuse on the light but you might have blown the bulb. Open it up (2 small screws one on each side take out the glass) and if you need to you can get bulbs at Home Depot.
I've use an AB lightfor a long time and frankly never blew a bulb but it does happen.
If that's not it I'mnot sure what to look at next.


just thought of this. Make sure the plug is firmly seated in the female receptacle. Unplug it and plug it back in.

Don

Last edited by Don Bloom; August 19th, 2008 at 07:38 PM. Reason: forgot to add
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 07:38 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
As well, if you have a 200 or 250, check the bottom of your AB mounting plate for the Automatic Lighting Control and ensure it is in the Off position if you want the light to turn on and off independent of the tape transport.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 07:50 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Thank you for answering so quickly.

Yes, it was while the light was on that I turned the camera off and then on again. I have a couple of spar bulbs and have changed it and it doesn't seem to have done any good. I tried that switch on the bottom both ways now (I didn't even know it existed, so thank you for telling me about it:) and still, nothing.

Crapola.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 08:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Could I have taken out the base of the light I wonder, where on off switch is?

I'm just hoping there is no way I could have short circuited the camera.

I have to say, I know I'm new, but this is a weak link if that is the case:(
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 08:33 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
The UL2 has a removable head. Try pressing it down firmly on the "mounting base"
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 08:44 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
No, that doesn't seem to be it. Bleah. So, I've tried a new bulb, moved that switch to on and off to see if it works either way. Made sure the removeable head was properly seated. Hmm. Is there any other steps I should take? I just got this light, so I can send it back. It seems to me this is defective. I know I probably shouldn't have done that, but I'm sure taht can happen in the normal course of filming things. Hmm.

Do you think I might have fried the base? I'm just hoping it isn't the Gold Mount with the Power Tap. The battery seems to work just fine for charging and general camera use though.

Thank you for your help with this, I really appreciate it.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 08:45 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Jason, send me an e-mail at shaun (at) gearheadvisual.com
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 08:58 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Shaun,

Thank you for your help and I just sent you an email. I'm thinking it is a defective product (I've had it two days and only now am trying it out) and I should send it back. I don't want a screw up tomorrow and can use an old set of Bresco lights and battery belts. This is a pain in the arse I must say.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 08:28 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
I got an email back from Anton Bauer and they say that the Gold Mount has a fuse for the power tap.

:> There is no fuse in the light. The fuse is in the Gold Mount. Take the
> bracket off the camera. Trace the red wire back from the PowerTap
> connector which will lead you to the fuse holder. The fuse has caps on
> the end that slide off.
> :

I'll let you know how this goes after I get done with my shoot today and try to fix this!
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 08:51 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Ok, it is a 7A 125V fuse, and RadioShack doesn't appear to have any. Does anyone have an idea where I could pick one up?
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 10:25 AM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
Open it up (2 small screws one on each side take out the glass) and if you need to you can get bulbs at Home Depot.
The UL2 hinges open to remove the bulb. Remove the head from base and spread the two tabs at the bottom and it will hinge open.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 11:11 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amherst, OH
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason McCormy View Post
Ok, it is a 7A 125V fuse, and RadioShack doesn't appear to have any. Does anyone have an idea where I could pick one up?
If I remember right, that's a glass fuse. did you check an auto parts store like NAPA ?
__________________
John Sirb
Lake Breeze Video
John Sirb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 03:48 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
hey Greg,
one of us must have an older light because minehas screws to hold the glass in and actually that's where the softbox attaches.
I just looked and while there are tabs on the bottom I have never had to open them up to replace a bulb. Remove the 2 screws that are in the center of the sidewalls pop the glass bulb falls out in my hand. Somewhere along the line they must have changed.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 01:45 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Don,

I have the softbox on mine and you're right, it does attach in the two screw holes - but there are also the two tabs and as Greg said, if you spread them very slightly you should be able to swing up the housing with glass, softbox, etc all attached and the lamp will drop out in yout hand.Hopefully after it has cooled down ;<)

It's kind of non-obvious how to get it to swing up until you've done it a couple of times.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network