Well I got my Firewire fixed:( at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2008, 03:37 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
Well I got my Firewire fixed:(

$1,500 I have to say im really disapointed over this. They have a flimsy firewire system then they stick it to ya on the repair. You cant tell me that that board is worth $1,500 thats a third of the price of the camera. They could at least do a board level repair.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2008, 04:02 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Damn. That is insane. Did you have a warranty?
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2008, 07:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
nah it was out, I thought about selling it for a while and getting the new panasonic. maybe later.
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2008, 07:23 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: FTW Texas
Posts: 77
I wonder if this repair is something a savvy electronics tech could do and save some money.
David Allen Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2008, 07:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 25
Sure, just pop one of them resistors in there

The days of soldering iron fixes are fading into history.
We had to have a Firewire controller replaced in our HVX200. It was around that price. But they initially did the wrong service and we had to send it back. It ended up being away for far too long.

What caused ours to go out? Beware plugging into a cheap Firewire socket on your computer. We had a bad socket that allowed you to plug it in upside down. The camera did not appreciate that any too much.

At least our JVC 110 has a beefy 6 pin Firewire connector. Those 4 pin connectors are one of the worst designed connectors. Not very robust.
--Hank
Hank Coffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 08:38 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
If you make very sure it is plugged in the right way, and that the computer and camera are off, there is not much chance of it blowing the port? Right? I find it incredibly stressful to plug these things in.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 09:11 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 1,029
2 things 1. I wish they had a 4 pin, The 4 pins dont carry power so the chances of a power surge are much less.

2.They say turn everything off and that may be true (and believe me I will do it) but I dont think they really know why this is happening. Even if you talk to the techs they say anywhere from putting it in upside down (which I would have to have done it twice and im not even that dumb) to static on putting in the connector. I have been using Firewire since it came out I never have paid attention on what was powered and what was'nt. I used USB 2 self powered drives and until I got my GY-HD100 I NEVER had a problem. Personally I think theres a flaw in the camera that they should back. IMHO.

Randy
Randy Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 01:26 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
I keep hearing horror stories about Firewire, or what I call Fryerwire. This is the worst designed piece of carp of all time.

Just cursiou, if you're power off at both ends, which one should you power up first, the camera or the computer, or does it not matter?
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 02:54 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 260
Typically you want any fw hard drives, sound devices, etc to be on before you switch your computer on, so it will recognize everything on boot. With my HD100 I've found it doesn't matter which I have on first, camera or computer, so long as they're both up before I start up FCP.
__________________
Reel Impressions Media - Make it more than a memory
GY-HD100- 7D- PSC Promix 3- Lectro/Sennheiser- Zoom H4- MPB- CS6/CC
Christopher Glavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 03:47 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: FTW Texas
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Johnson View Post
2 things 1. I wish they had a 4 pin, The 4 pins dont carry power so the chances of a power surge are much less.

2.They say turn everything off and that may be true (and believe me I will do it) but I dont think they really know why this is happening. Even if you talk to the techs they say anywhere from putting it in upside down (which I would have to have done it twice and im not even that dumb) to static on putting in the connector. I have been using Firewire since it came out I never have paid attention on what was powered and what was'nt. I used USB 2 self powered drives and until I got my GY-HD100 I NEVER had a problem. Personally I think theres a flaw in the camera that they should back. IMHO.

Randy

Check this out

FireWire Port Isolator

FireWire Port Isolator - 6pin - 6 inch


I still would not recommend hot swapping but it does give you a little peace of mind.
David Allen Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2008, 01:20 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Paris France
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Allen Smith View Post
Check this out

FireWire Port Isolator

FireWire Port Isolator - 6pin - 6 inch


I still would not recommend hot swapping but it does give you a little peace of mind.
That's a MUST HAVE David. In the meantime red tags over the firewire port and as Tim Dashwood is saying, don't forget the IEEE HD/DV switch at the back on the 200 series! Apparently you have to "power off" before switching that too. I've got mine well marked - pity really
Stuart Nimmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2008, 09:52 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 20
6to4to6

I usually use a 6pin to 4pin fire wire cable with a 4pin to 6pin adapter at the end thereby averting the voltage transfer.

-Clay
Clay Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:26 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay Morton View Post
I usually use a 6pin to 4pin fire wire cable with a 4pin to 6pin adapter at the end thereby averting the voltage transfer.

-Clay
I go one step further with a 6-pin to 4-pin adapter on either end of a 4-pin cable.

but I still shut down just in case (1,500 bucks is worth it)
Mark Silva is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network