Uncompressed HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 3rd, 2008, 11:33 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Uncompressed HD

Is there some sort of attachment for a laptop express slot that would allow you to take in uncompressed HD from the JVC component out and preview it on the laptop as well as record it uncompressed on the laptop?

In my searching, I've seen lots of references to recording HDV from the firewire port of a JVC to a laptop, but not the component out.

Or, am I nuts.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 11:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason McCormy View Post
Is there some sort of attachment for a laptop express slot that would allow you to take in uncompressed HD from the JVC component out and preview it on the laptop as well as record it uncompressed on the laptop?

In my searching, I've seen lots of references to recording HDV from the firewire port of a JVC to a laptop, but not the component out.

Or, am I nuts.
It can be done but you need some crazy raid. And I don't know what hardware you need. Laptop might be a tough sell.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 12:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Ok, so to record it in the higher bandwidth intencity of HD you would need an extremely fast system? Hmm. The laptop is just a core2duo 2gig with 4 gigs of ram and two 320 gig 7200 harddrives. I don't think I can configure them as raid.

It was an idea.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 12:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Satellite Beach, Fl
Posts: 784
Nevermind...
Jerry Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 09:03 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 15
On a MacBook Pro I guess you could use the Matrox MXO2. You have component inputs on that, and it's fairly portable.
Don't know if there is such a thing for PC's.

In addition you could attach an external eSata drive to your laptop, possible by using a eSata expansion card to provide the connection for faster transfer speeds.
Alex Pitstra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 05:52 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 91
AJA IoHD

AJA Video - Serial Digital Video Interface and Conversion
Phil Balsdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 11:17 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Jason. Others have mentioned the MXO2 and ioHD for use on the Macbook Pro. Both products support component YRB input. I'll explain further.

The Matrox MXO2 is purpose-built to capture uncompressed 10-bit to a Macbook Pro using a proprietary interface card in the ExpressCard34 slot. I'm not sure if a FW800 drive would maintain the bit rate for you... maybe two in a RAID would work best.
The MXO2 also supports ProRes422 HQ which would be considered a lossless codec that could be captured to a FW800 drive (or possibly a FW400 drive.)

The Aja IoHD supports the capture of ProRes 422 over firewire 800. I do not believe it is capable of full uncompressed, and I'm not even sure if it can do ProRes422 HQ or just ProRes422.
You would also have to research how well it would work with external FW400 or FW800 drives connected to a MacbookPro. eSATA connection to external drive might be the ideal solution.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 11:27 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Warren Vermont
Posts: 73
The MXO2 can capture 720P or 1080i with at least DuoCore 2.4ghz laptop, but not 1080P, you need a QuadCore for that. The IoHD captures to ProRes in hardware, so it can use any DuoCore laptop over 2.33ghz, but it needs more horsepower to do native DVCProHD (they don't say how much more, they recommend putting your DVCProHD into a ProRes timeline to make it work).
Ed
Ed Dooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 11:31 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Thanks for the clarification Ed.
Do you know if either of these products can do real-time preview from sequences other than ProRes422?
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 02:03 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood View Post
Jason. Others have mentioned the MXO2 and ioHD for use on the Macbook Pro. Both products support component YRB input. I'll explain further.

The Matrox MXO2 is purpose-built to capture uncompressed 10-bit to a Macbook Pro using a proprietary interface card in the ExpressCard34 slot. I'm not sure if a FW800 drive would maintain the bit rate for you... maybe two in a RAID would work best.
The MXO2 also supports ProRes422 HQ which would be considered a lossless codec that could be captured to a FW800 drive (or possibly a FW400 drive.)
Tim, doesn't this mxo2 also allow a basic computer monitor to do legitimate color correcting? If so, seems like a great product.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 05:28 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Yes it does. It does even do real-time HDMI and component or composite a out at once
__________________
Marc Colemont - Belgium - http://www.mc-productions.be
JVC GY-HM850's, HM890, HM600
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 10:50 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Agoura California
Posts: 268
Thank you very much for the suggestion. I really like this Matrox device and think it might be perfect. I have a Macbook pro that would work perfectly I think.
Jason McCormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 08:10 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
MXO2 is 1/2 the price of the AJA IOhd, 1/2 the weight, and can run on 12V batteries with an extra cable ( MXO2 power connector -> XLR 4 )

or just look at the video I did for matrox here using a HD100 to shoot :)

Matrox MXO2 - Watch video
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 03:44 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Oakley View Post
MXO2 is 1/2 the price of the AJA IOhd, 1/2 the weight, and can run on 12V batteries with an extra cable ( MXO2 power connector -> XLR 4 )

or just look at the video I did for matrox here using a HD100 to shoot :)

Matrox MXO2 - Watch video
Great stuff. By all accounts this seems to be an awesome product.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 10:52 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 53
Component In?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Oakley View Post
MXO2 is 1/2 the price of the AJA IOhd, 1/2 the weight, and can run on 12V batteries with an extra cable ( MXO2 power connector -> XLR 4 )

or just look at the video I did for matrox here using a HD100 to shoot :)

Matrox MXO2 - Watch video
I am also interested in this product with the idea of shooting directly into it from my HD-110 via the analog component connectors. Steve, is this by any chance how you shot this piece? Does anyone have experience with the quality of the output from the HD-110 component ports?

Thanks.
Terry VerHaar is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network