Are MiniDV tapes interchangeable? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2009, 04:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 60
Are MiniDV tapes interchangeable?

If I shot 720p 24fps and handed the tape off to someone, would they need the same camera to capture it to their computer? Or can they use any MiniDV camera?

If not, what if I shot 30fps, would that make a difference?

I'm doing a shoot but they want me to hand them the tape right after the shoot, and I was concerned they wouldn't be able to capture.

Thanks!
Chris Rentzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 04:33 PM   #2
Sponsor: TapeWorks Texas
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 357
Chris,
For your client to play back your JVC ProHD footage at 720p/24fps or 30fps, they would require either a JVC HD100/110/200/250 camcorder or the BRHD50U ProHD player/recorder to capture the footage.

Another option would be for you to shoot on the Focus HDD and hand them the drive to obtain the footage.

Best Regards,
Scott Cantrell
Tapeworks Texas Inc - HDVinfo Sponser
tapeworksscott@sbcglobal.net
Houston, TX 713-688-3830
Toll Free 866-827-3489
Scott Cantrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 04:43 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
I believe that some other JVC mini-dv cams will play the footage back, but there is a greater chance of digital hick-ups...

As well as the cam eating your tape.

So the answer to your question is yes, in theory, but with a big warning.

john
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2009, 10:18 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
Only the 1st generation JVC HDV camera can play the tapes, and then only if at 720p30. Otherwise you have to shoot standard dv for a tape compatibility that clients not vested in JVC can use.

Otherwise, you will need to capture the data from tape (or from focus HDD if you have it), and possibly even transcode it to a format appropriate for their uses.

I find many clients aren't really that well informed about how, why and when to use HD anyway, and thats part of my job is consulting on the right approach.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 12:13 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
the jvc hd1/10 will play back 720p24 over firewire to an nle, but will not preview the video on the LCD screen. if you are worried about viewing what you are capturing, use vegas to preview. I've been through this process countless times. Then I just import the .m2t files into any supporting nle I choose to edit with. I'm sure the now hard to find jvc portable hdv player would work in a similar situation.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network