firewire 600 to 800 with jvc? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2009, 04:09 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: brussels, belgium
Posts: 1
firewire 600 to 800 with jvc?

Hey all,

Is it possible to connect your jvc 111 with a firewire from the camcorder to a firewire 800 port (so 6 pin to 9 pin)? Because all the new macs only have firewire 800 ports instead of 600.
Does anyone has experience with this case?

Thanks,

Wouter
Wouter Verbeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2009, 09:47 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 15
Hi Wouter,
If you mean old-style Firewire 400 (6-pin), yes you can. You need a Firewire 400 to 800 cable. You can buy them seperate, but they sometimes come boxed with an external harddrive (like the WD Studio II).

I have succesfully hooked my JVC gy-hd201 up to a MacBook pro with only a Firewire 800 connection.
Alex Pitstra is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network