No Firewire400 port on Macs -- How do I import footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2009, 11:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 162
No Firewire400 port on Macs -- How do I import footage?

Hi all --

I was just about to buy a new iMac and MacBook Pro but realized that none of the new Macs has a FireWire400 port needed to hook up my JVC HD100 (either directly or through a Firestore). All they have is Firewire800 and USB.

Is there a workaround other than keeping an old Mac to import footage?
Stefan Immler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 12:18 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 7
adapter:

all you need is this adapter:

Amazon.com: Sonnet FireWire 400 to 800 Adapter (FAD-824): Electronics

greetz
Juergen
Jurgen Schubert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 12:53 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
Cables To Go - 3m IEEE-1394B FirewireŽ 800 9-pin/4-pin Cable
Also a cable that goes directly from 4 pin to 9 pin. They also have 6 pin to 9 pin.

4 pin is Firewire 400 unpowered, what's usually on cameras. 6 pin is Firewire 400 powered, on the computer end and some hard drives. 9 pin is Firewire 800.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 01:16 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 7
Cables To Go - 3m IEEE-1394B FirewireŽ 800 9-pin/6-pin Cable

you´re shure? i thought this one is the right one.
Jurgen Schubert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 02:00 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
Well it depends on what you want to plug in. I don't know what plug the HD100 has, but I know that the Firestore has a 6-pin port. Most camcorders have 4-pin ports, so just buy accordingly. You can also go for the adapter if you already have a bunch of cables, but the adapter makes the plug a lot longer and prone to breakage, in my opinion.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 03:44 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
The HD100/200/250 have 6-pin firewire ports. The new HM700 has 4-pin.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 03:08 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 635
can you capture from a firewire camera to a USB/firewire external drive to USB computer back to a USB drive?

I don't have that problem. I got a FE-HD100 DTE drive, so I'm sure it will work, just slower. I'll probably still get a MacBookPro, but I could get a MacBook. But if someone didn't have a DTE drive, could they capture through the USB bottleneck?
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 03:17 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Humphrey View Post
But if someone didn't have a DTE drive, could they capture through the USB bottleneck?
No. Neither Final Cut nor iMovie supports USB video capture. Which is kind of a paradox, since the MacBook doesn't have FireWire, but comes with iMovie.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 07:11 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mensingeweer, NL
Posts: 1
iMovie does not ' see' the JVC GRD-DF420E

I was referred to JVC by Apple support for this problem. I use Firewire400 on the camera and Firewire800 plugged in the iMac. I specifically bought the iMac for video-editing, and now I cannot use my tapes... Apple support says JVC should come up with a driver, JVC US says they never sold this model in the states, JVC in Europe says they don't have drivers, so I have to use my old HP Notebook as an in-between solution (which can only do low-res Quicktime import). Now here's a deadlock, or...?
I'd be soo happy if someone with Mac experience might come up with a workable solution!
Elma Middel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 05:20 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
This question is better off in Non-Linear Editing on the Mac Forum at DVinfo.net.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network