Can't use HDV camera for monitor transcoding or as a tape deck? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2009, 10:01 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Wales, Pennsylvania
Posts: 76
Can't use HDV camera for monitor transcoding or as a tape deck?

OK you can capture HDV video from the HD110 camera, but you can't use it to transcode to a monitor, or record your timeline back to tape? Is this correct? So I would need to get a Black magic IO card for monitoring my NLE timeline output, and a tape deck to record projects back to tape? Does the firewire protocol only work to capture from the camera?
Tom Koveleskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2009, 10:17 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Correct about not being able to view HDV timelines looped through the camera, like DV, requiring an external monitoring solution.

Regarding going back to tape, FCP will do a Print to Tape back to the camera. Not sure what editor you're using.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Wales, Pennsylvania
Posts: 76
Thanks Shaun. Just as I thought. I a using Grass Valley Edius as my NLE. I tried to print back to the camera, but I only got an error message. I don't know if Edius is capable of printing back to HDV.
Tom Koveleskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2009, 03:47 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Koveleskie View Post
OK you can capture HDV video from the HD110 camera, but you can't use it to transcode to a monitor, or record your timeline back to tape? Is this correct? So I would need to get a Black magic IO card for monitoring my NLE timeline output, and a tape deck to record projects back to tape? Does the firewire protocol only work to capture from the camera?
If I remember correctly, some PAL cameras can record back to tape, and some can't.

I believe the HD110E cannot record. However, the HD111E can record and costs more money due to taxes on video recording devices.
Jack Walker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network