Mixing HD200U and HDCam footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 22nd, 2009, 10:01 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 49
Mixing HD200U and HDCam footage

I may be shooting with an JVC HD200u for a project that has to incorporate Sony HDCam footage already captured as DVCProHD in Final Cut Pro.
Am I going to encounter problems trying this. I may use a Focus Enhancements drive to record to as well as tape.
Does the JVC 200u record 1080i to the FS drive? Or just the 200ub?
Thanks in advance.
Martin Kornfeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2009, 11:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Kornfeld View Post
I may be shooting with an JVC HD200u for a project that has to incorporate Sony HDCam footage already captured as DVCProHD in Final Cut Pro.
Am I going to encounter problems trying this. I may use a Focus Enhancements drive to record to as well as tape.
Does the JVC 200u record 1080i to the FS drive? Or just the 200ub?
Thanks in advance.
The 720p you can convert pretty nicely to 1080i while the other way is more difficult.
If you have a chance to shoot a DSC-Chart with both camera's. By having then a color reference it will be easier to match both camera's in post.
__________________
Marc Colemont - Belgium - http://www.mc-productions.be
JVC GY-HM850's, HM890, HM600
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2009, 12:19 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 49
"The 720p you can convert pretty nicely to 1080i"
Do you mean convert as it's being recorded to FS Drive, on capture or after capture?
Martin Kornfeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2009, 03:51 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I BELIEVE you need the B variant to get 1080i out of the firewire port.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 01:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Kornfeld View Post
"The 720p you can convert pretty nicely to 1080i"
Do you mean convert as it's being recorded to FS Drive, on capture or after capture?
You cannot record it on the drive while shooting unless you have the HD200B.
In the editing package you can convert it. Or with other external software tools.
__________________
Marc Colemont - Belgium - http://www.mc-productions.be
JVC GY-HM850's, HM890, HM600
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network