60p explanation needed at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2005, 05:42 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
60p explanation needed

i saw on non working model of jvc hdv camera (just access to menus, diffrent setups and "shooting" without possibility to record anything on tape) that there is an option called 60p.

the guy who organised show was not able to explain me was this 60 FRAMES PER SECOND option - like in panasonic's varicam,

or

this is just a NAME for something absolutelly different. (what?)

maybe someone can explain me what is going on with this 60p - in this very case - jvc hdv.

thank you,

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2005, 07:05 PM   #2
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
It is 60p, but the camera cannot record it. It can only be used for live output via the analog component connections.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2005, 08:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 26
480/60p can be recorded to tape also.

Don
Don Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2005, 01:07 AM   #4
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Don's correct, I should have clarified that.

The camera can record 480/24p, 480/60i, and 480/60p. In HD mode it can record 720/24p and 720/30p. It can be set to 720/60p mode as a live camera head, but cannot record 720/60p.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2005, 07:35 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
I'm assuming you will be able to record 720p60 straight to the GR-HD100 80FB hard disk drive.
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2005, 07:46 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Ferdinand
I'm assuming you will be able to record 720p60 straight to the GR-HD100 80FB hard disk drive.
That would be sweet but the standard 720p60 output is analog so you need a device to convert it to a digital data stream before you would be able to save it to a hard drive.

There are a couple threads geenerally on this topic. Here's one http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=44172

Don
Don Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2005, 07:48 PM   #7
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Ferdinand
I'm assuming you will be able to record 720p60 straight to the GR-HD100 80FB hard disk drive.
Not possible. The drive only records what the firewire is outputting, and 60p cannot be output through the firewire. It's an MPEG compression thing. 60p is only available on the analog outputs, not through the firewire and not on the tape.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2005, 06:54 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Green
... The drive only records what the firewire is outputting, and 60p cannot be output through the firewire. It's an MPEG compression thing. 60p is only available on the analog outputs, not through the firewire and not on the tape.
guys, thanks for your info. i just thought that this mode is also available for recording. so - new question arises: - how to record this to tape?

1. doest this means that camera is sending 60 FRAMES PER SECOND, but you must find a way to record it on something like real HD recorder cappable to record this (panasonic recorder with 60p possibility)?

2. ...or to something unknown to me, like specific hard disc recorder? with specific software on it.

3. and of course - why is this at all mentioned if it's not possible to record? if you see it on the monitor with analog inputs ( and the camera is set to be in this 60p mode which means it's 60 FRAMES PER SECOND)we will see just real time - no slomo etc. so, what is the reason for this?

thank you,

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2005, 12:41 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
As stated you need an component analog out to digital convertor. (Check Don's link for some brands.) Typically you then capture this stream onto a PC, then edit and output as you would any video.
I think where you are getting confussed is the simple fact that the 720p60 mode is uncompressed and does not record onto the cam's tape. All other modes including the 480p60 are HDV compressed and record onto the cam's tape.
As a note, you need one hell-of-a RAID setup to capture 720p60 uncompressed.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network