FCP Timecode break on start\stop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2010, 05:16 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2
FCP Timecode break on start\stop

I have a GY-HD251. I shoot with continuous timecode, however when I capture to FCP it keeps reading every record start\stop as a timecode break. This only happens when I record HDV 720P50. Capturing works fine when using SD PAL.

I've tried batch capturing the entirety of the tape and also capture now. I have unchecked the 'make new clip on timecode break' function within user prefs. Whatever I do FCP thinks it's encountering a timecode break when all i've done is hit stop on my camera.

Any ideas?

Dan
Dan Atkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 01:34 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
When you use the native HDV codec for capture FCP requires that the MPEG2 data stream is perfectly consistent, which will never happen over a start/stop. You may have better luck with the ProRes422 digitizer but your best bet is a capture card like Decklink SDI or Studio using SDI out of the HD-251 with embedded TC. This way you can just capture continuously from the tape with the uninterrupted TC.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 01:41 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 91
That's exactly how it's supposed to work. Each shot you make in the camera becomes a separate shot in FCP. Surely that's a much easier workflow when editing than spooling through one continuous clip made up of all your shots.

You'll have more success importing as ProRes in regard to lost frames at each start stop.
Phil Balsdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 08:10 AM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2
It would be preferred, I admit, to capture every start stop but it wasn't what my client wanted to do, so I said I'd find out for him. He ended up capturing to Pro-res.

Thanks for all the advice.
Dan Atkinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network