Lens mount at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 26th, 2010, 03:11 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 61
Lens mount

Hi,
Recently I have come across an adapter that fits ‘HD200 lens mount and allows me to use old Canon lenses to do micro videography. After some experimenting, I found out that bigger the zoom lens, farther I can be from the subject to get the same close up. Yes you say, that’s what the zoom is all about, but with this adapter using 70-210 zoom lens I can zoom full frame on an eye from about 3 to 8 feet away. I’d say that’s a long distance micro videography. So while thinking about maybe setting up for shooting wildlife a thought came across: ‘bigger zoom, farther from the subject, closer image’. Soon I found another great deal on a 600mm Canon mounted zoom lens. When it came, I was excited but as soon as I picked it up I found myself dumbfounded. It weighs over 2.25Kg (4.9lb).

So my question is: how heavy lens can I safely hang on the 200’s mount without supporting it?

Here are three sample shots:
Lens mount-still1226_00000.jpg
JVC stock lens zoomed all the way out (the sign is in the middle of the frame).


Lens mount-still1226_00001.jpg
JVC stock lens zoomed all the way in.


Lens mount-still1226_00002.jpg
600mm lens (the sign is about 50m/163ft. away).
__________________
__________
Rob.
Robert Wiejak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 03:56 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Just my opinion but I would be extremely careful with that 600 if it's not supported. Careful to the point that if it's not supported at least get a monopod under it. With the weight of that lens there is a whole lot of stress on the mounts.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2010, 02:24 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 61
Hi Don,

Thanks for the suggestion. Yes, all that weight really is putting a bit more pressure on that mount.
As per your suggestion, here it is with a monopod underneath it.

Lens mount-img_3879a.jpg

I’ll have to search the internet to see if there is anything I can support it with, as I don’t think the distances are in anyway, form, or shape standard (of the shelf).
__________________
__________
Rob.
Robert Wiejak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2010, 03:04 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
I gotta say that's a monster lookeing piece of glass on that JVC. From the looks of it a monopod OR some sort of brace from the tripod head to the lens is definately needed. It would be tragic for that lens to to hit the ground because the mount broke. Have fun with it, I'll bet the image is awesome.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2010, 01:34 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
you need a 15mm rods setup and lens support bracket, out near the end of the lens, not at the tripod mount which will put too much wieght out there. using a setup like this requires a lot of care & respect. I've got a 400mm lens on my 60D, and it has a full rods support setup.
__________________
Steve Oakley DP • Audio Mixer • Editor • Colorist
http://stevenoakley.com
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2010, 02:39 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Latisana Udine Italy
Posts: 23
sure with canon lens , for reflex cam , like a 300 or more 600...you lose many light..and yoi increse many rumor, white e color...

I'v try time ago with many differents pentax lens... super zoom but low quality (hd ) and many degrade...(rumor)...
Jimiz Zanei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2010, 11:23 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 61
Hi Jimiz,

Yes, I am aware that there is no substitution for a real lens that is made for ‘that’ exact purpose (and costs thousands of dollars...).
But like I said in the OP, I found the adapter, felt like experimenting, that lead to 600mm lens.
At the end I only spend a bit over $200 on both.
Even if I never use it in a real production, this should be a great educational experience for me.
__________________
__________
Rob.
Robert Wiejak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 04:06 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 91
You need extra long matte box rails and a bridge support for the lens.

This is a simple device that fits to the rails with a height adjustable support that can be set to support the lens weight somewhere suitable under the barrel of the lens closer to the front element. It allows you to pan and tilt normally and relieves the mount of most of the weight.

Without this ultimately you will damage the lens mount on the camera.
Phil Balsdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2011, 06:45 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
What is this adapter that OP is talking about and can I attach Canon EF lenses? Where is the adapter for sale???
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2011, 10:50 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 61
Hi Lee,

Sorry to say, but this adapter is for Canon FD (manual) lenses only.

Here are my pictures of it:

Lens mount-img_3901a.jpg JVC mount side.
Lens mount-img_3902a.jpg Canon FD side.
Lens mount-img_3903a.jpg From side...

I purchased it on eBay, from a fellow in Warsaw, Poland. As I am writing this, I see he still has 3 more available at $99USD each. The item number is 370463564061.
__________________
__________
Rob.
Robert Wiejak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2011, 07:12 AM   #11
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Thanks Rob. I have never used FD lenses before. Their focal length work fine with the HD200 then would you say? Any vignetting?
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2011, 01:09 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 61
Lee,

The Canon FD lens is a full 35mm lens (image: 36mm x 24mm).
On the other hand, HD200 has 1/3” sensor (image: 4.8mm x 3.6mm).
There will never be vignetting in this combination (or direction: FD > 1/3”) because the image projected by the FD lens is many times bigger (x50) than the HD200's sensor is.
The whole setup is for doing macro videography.

Here is an example I shot last year (this was done with DSLR camera, but I am aiming at doing the same with video):

Lens mount-ccd1.jpg
¼” CCD video sensor.

Lens mount-ccd2.jpg
Detail of the connections in the middle of the bottom row.

You could say: it’s like using extreme zoom lens, not exactly for every day event shooting.
__________________
__________
Rob.
Robert Wiejak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network