How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 21st, 2012, 03:12 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 15
How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Hey guys,
So I'm trying to clear footage from Sony HDV tapes, I can't find any sortof setting to wipe them off. I guess I could shoot black for 62 mins somewhere quiet, but I'm curious if there is a way to manually wipe the tapes inboard back to default blue screen etc. Any suggestions so appreciated, Thanks
__________________
http://www.warnerbrown.com
Warner Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2012, 04:30 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

We used a Garner CDS-3500A belt degausser it'll do it in 2 mins with one pass but they're very expensive.

Degausser Information

For a one off exercise you need a similar rig like that, try calling your local TV and radio outlets, or call this crowd for a one off job, they're not far fom you.
GARNER HD-1 HIGH ENERGY MAGNETIC TAPE DEGAUSSER-USED WITH NEW SHIPPING CASE | eBay

Before you start running it, put your credit cards in a safe place and take your watch off, it'll rip the hands off it :)
Not really but it will erase the magnetic strip on your credit cards .. clean as a whistle :)

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2012, 08:52 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

I kinda curious as to why you're trying to wipe HDV tapes, unless you're trying to destroy some evidence.

If taping over them with new video doesn't obliterate anything already there, there's a fault with your camera, so there's no reason to blank them using an external device.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2012, 11:19 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

With 100 recorded tapes, I'd always bulk erase them and go out of my way to do it.

Taping over them to wipe existing footage would be a long term pain. You'd have 2 piles, erased and non erased with the likelyhood of mixing them together.

And in practical terms, if you just record over the top of a full tape of existing video recordings, you'll always have trouble finding the end of your latest take with the End Search function.

In 99% of cases, your machine will fast forward to the end of the previous unwanted material.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2012, 03:41 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 15
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Soucy View Post
I kinda curious as to why you're trying to wipe HDV tapes, unless you're trying to destroy some evidence.

If taping over them with new video doesn't obliterate anything already there, there's a fault with your camera, so there's no reason to blank them using an external device.


CS
Chris,
I want to wipe the tapes so I can possibly sell them used online. Some tapes have footage from the previous owner, which I had no problem shooting over/importing footage etc. so they're still pretty usable. I'm just going to tape black over it all.
__________________
http://www.warnerbrown.com
Warner Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2012, 03:51 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 15
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan Black View Post
With 100 recorded tapes, I'd always bulk erase them and go out of my way to do it.

Taping over them to wipe existing footage would be a long term pain. You'd have 2 piles, erased and non erased with the likelyhood of mixing them together.

And in practical terms, if you just record over the top of a full tape of existing video recordings, you'll always have trouble finding the end of your latest take with the End Search function.

In 99% of cases, your machine will fast forward to the end of the previous unwanted material.

Cheers.
thanks for the info.I see what you mean
hmm..
__________________
http://www.warnerbrown.com
Warner Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2012, 08:45 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Warner,

Mini DV tapes sell almost for pennies nowadays; adding 100 hours to the counter of your HD100 will diminish the value of the camera more than what you would get selling those tapes... if you can sell them... no videographer in his right mind will buy used tapes for $2 when he can get new ones for $3. Not worth the risk of dropouts.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2012, 08:10 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 15
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Yeah, I must've been looking at the wrong prices for the wrong tapes on Ebay. Definitely not worth the trouble!
__________________
http://www.warnerbrown.com
Warner Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2012, 07:16 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Soucy View Post
I kinda curious as to why you're trying to wipe HDV tapes, unless you're trying to destroy some evidence.

CS
Are you a copper??
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2012, 11:08 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Nope, probably closer to Zinc, on reflection.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 12:05 AM   #11
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

thank you Britten...
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 01:24 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Betcha you don't know the other one, good luck.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 06:39 AM   #13
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Re: How do you wipe/erase HD100 tapes?

Dont want to thanks.
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network