HD100 date/time overlay on analog output at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 2nd, 2012, 10:45 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
HD100 date/time overlay on analog output

I need to use my HD100 for legal work, where both date and time need to be displayed on screen. I can turn on the date/time function and it will correctly embed into the video as metadata, which is not visible on the video when downloaded to the computer, but my NLE (Edius) can retrieve it and burn it - so I'm fine there.

But I also need a live backup of my recording - zero fault tolerance. I do this by outputting analog video to computer via a USB MPEG2 ana/digi converter - the firewire port is already used to record to Firestore.

The problem is, I can't find a way to burn (overlay) date and time onto the analog video.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:29 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: HD100 date/time overlay on analog output

You might have tried this already, and I'm not sure it'll work, but

In the TIME/DATE menu, make sure BARS+CAM is selected
In the OTHERS [1/2] menu, try changing the OUTPUT CHAR. to ON

There's also something in the TC/UB/CLOCK Menu Screen: UB REC*2, but have no clue what it's for.

Another option? Use Prelude CS6 to ingest and transcode date/time - but would that defeat the purpose?
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2012, 03:52 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Re: HD100 date/time overlay on analog output

Sareesh, thanks for taking the time.

- In the TIME/DATE menu, make sure BARS+CAM is selected.
Check. Tried all three settings, no change in the analog output video - refers to LCD and viewfinder.

- In the OTHERS [1/2] menu, try changing the OUTPUT CHAR. to ON.

Check. When "on", the menu onscreen display is also visible on the analog video output.

- There's also something in the TC/UB/CLOCK Menu Screen: UB REC*2, but have no clue what it's for.
This made me scratch my head for half an hour... it is NOT displayed on my screen. Went to the manual and found that this only works when camera is set to PAL 50/25 frame rate.

- Another option? Use Prelude CS6 to ingest and transcode date/time - but would that defeat the purpose?
Yes it would - IF it works at all. I found a couple software options but they only work with digital video (ingested via firewire) and not USB-ingested video. I am sure Prelude would only ingest time/date data from a digital connection... unless it can be forced to use time/date info from the computer.

So the search is still on - anyone with a solution?

Thanks,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2012, 06:25 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Re: HD100 date/time overlay on analog output

Any other ideas how to do this? I REALLY need it...

I beg you,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2012, 05:33 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Re: HD100 date/time overlay on analog output

One last try... anyone know how to do it?

Thank you,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2012, 04:50 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Re: HD100 date/time overlay on analog output

Well, here's the end of this story.

I finally called JVC Pro - that's where I should have started, not bug you guys... I tend to forget how nice it is to own JVC Professional gear. They didn't pick up but called me back within ten minutes, yes, TEN minutes.

The sad answer is: NO, the GY-HD cameras simply don't have this feature.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network