Component out resolution at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2005, 01:54 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Component out resolution

I posted a similar topic on the HD10 forum but seems you guys took our thunder I will ask here because it is just as relevant for this cam.

An owner of a PAL dsr570 told me he was able to capture uncompressed 1024x576. I am curious if this is a similar to the uncompressed SD , which is available at 480p60 on both JVC cams? I know that it conforms to 720x480 to tape in HDV, but what about uncompressed? Would I get 1000'ishx480?

Probably not such a concern to HD100 users as they get 720p60 so no need step down to SD unless it was a matter of HDD speed or size. In regards does anyone know what kind of bandwidth is required for uncompressed SDp60 and or 720p60?
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2005, 03:05 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Hodson
An owner of a PAL dsr570 told me he was able to capture uncompressed 1024x576.
Ken, I own a DSR-500 (NTSC) and I am curious to hear more, specs, reasons for doing this, etc.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2005, 05:17 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
He said he made his own mod from the cam head pre compression. Not to tape/uncompressed are the reasons.

Seems the HD10/100 offer componet out uncompressed, I am wondering if it would be the same for SD.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 11:17 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Bump?
Bump!
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 11:30 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
You must be thinking about the Reel Stream Andromeda.

It is a mod done to SD cameras to hi-jack the RGB signal from the CCDs before compression and then send it to a laptop via a USB 2.0 port.

They also managed to get way higher resolution from the chips than the standard 720x480. The other benefit is that the 4:4:4 signal renders WAY MORE dynamic range.

Here's the link:

http://www.reel-stream.com/

Tim
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
No, ya I'm not really thinking anything anything to do with the Sony cam. But I would really like to know what resolution uncompressed SD component out is on the HD10/100.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network