Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24th, 2015, 12:52 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

So today I turn on the camera and the viewfinder decides it's not going to work. LCD screen works fine but can't see anything but black thru viewfinder. Any suggestions?

It's recording both audio and video but no viewfinder.. fun...
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com

Last edited by Lisa Bennett; May 24th, 2015 at 02:04 PM.
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2015, 03:19 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Make sure it's plugged all the way in.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2015, 03:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Hi Don,

Been plugging and unplugging but nothing works so far. bad timing on this that's for sure.
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 08:09 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Tested the firewire today and was able to capture footage with audio. Has anyone heard of the the viewfinders being a problem on these cameras? Just wondering if there is any sort of troubleshooting I could do before buying another one and then maybe it being some other problem causing it. The camera is like new and not been damaged and was real surprised when no image in viewfinder and only on LCD.

Can just the flex cable be replaced or whole viewfinder only?
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 11:34 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,124
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Are you sure the side LCD is shut? If it's slightly open, then it cuts out the VF - worth checking?
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 12:41 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Hi,

Yes I made sure it's closed. I keep it in great shape and contacts on cable look like new.
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 12:50 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,124
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

I suspect that you're going to need to find another to swap test it with. I still have a couple of 110s that I use, if you want to send me your viewfinder, I'd be happy to test it and post it back if you can't find anyone local

SCRUB that - I just spotted where you live, and as I'm in england this won't be any use - I'm sure somebody will have one you can try. If I had to guess, I'd bet the switch in the LCD has failed. Just a thought - do any of the LEDs in the viewfinder function, because if the problem is a video one, the leds would continue to work.
Sorry I can't help more, but you really need to find somebody with one before wasting money.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 02:14 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Hi,

The viewfinder is totally black.

The LCD screen when open has everything working. I shot some video to test and it recorded video with audio and I tested firewire and was able to transfer the footage to computer.
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2015, 07:31 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

From a technical standpoint it could be a bad viewfinder OR a bad interface (inside the camera) OR bad connections. The only way to test is to plug in a known good VF - surely you can find another HD100 owner within 50 miles and they are mostly friendly people... these cameras were the babies of hobby filmmakers just a few years ago (although they turned out to be workhorses for professionals with lower end HD needs).
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2015, 08:03 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Hi Lisa
with these camera's I'm guessing as you use it in your church that they're used on and off sticks, and if on stage they probably are used in a mixture of evf and lcd. My old church had 110s and the switch on the lcd door does eventually give up(same as the switch on a car door lights up on the car dash if open), and if that's the case it treats the camera as if the lcd is still open.
As a possible way of testing that, go into you menu options and tell the camera to never turn the evf off, so basically the evf and lcd stay on continuously. If the evf still fails, the I'd say its probably dead, without trying to sound facetious, make sure all the pins on the cable are good and intact.
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2015, 03:17 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Maybe I can try to find someone that has the same camera in Orlando area. I am not directly in Orlando but would certainly go there if I can find someone with a good viewfinder to plugin and see it is the problem.

The camera has low hours and it has been sitting a few months without being used. Not sure if viewfinder cable...I heard those flex cables go out sometimes.

At least I am able to record and transfer footage, so that's a good thing just can't do handheld shoots.

I was looking in the menu to find the setting for leaving the VF and LCD on but did not see the setting. Will search thru the menus again to try it.

Thank you.
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2015, 03:39 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

I just discovered, if I press the "display" button for about 2 seconds the view changes from the LCD to the viewfinder. The viewfinder went from black to displaying an image. It's a miracle! I am glad to have an image!

I have to press this button each time I want to change between viewfinder and LCD screen. Maybe it is the switch in the LCD door.

At least I can get an image in the viewfinder and can shoot handheld again and can use the camera.

Thanks for all of the input. It got me looking further into this and then read about the display button on page 19 in the manual.

Didn't locate the menu yet that leaves both viewfinder and LCD screen on at the same time. If someone can tell me how to find that, would be a big help. I'm double checking the manual to search for it but don't see it on the 100 so far.
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2015, 10:06 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Re: Viewfinder decided Not to Work HD100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul R Johnson View Post
I suspect that you're going to need to find another to swap test it with. I still have a couple of 110s that I use, if you want to send me your viewfinder, I'd be happy to test it and post it back if you can't find anyone local

SCRUB that - I just spotted where you live, and as I'm in england this won't be any use - I'm sure somebody will have one you can try. If I had to guess, I'd bet the switch in the LCD has failed. Just a thought - do any of the LEDs in the viewfinder function, because if the problem is a video one, the leds would continue to work.
Sorry I can't help more, but you really need to find somebody with one before wasting money.
Paul guessed it right off. It is the switch in the door of the LCD screen. And, somehow I had not even thought about trying the display button.

Thanks a ton!! This forum always has such helpful people. It sure does help when you really need some input on the topic and people chime in with feedback.
__________________
Lisa
http://www.victorytelevisionnetwork.com
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network