Does the GY-HD200 have the 'split screen' and other issues? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 19th, 2015, 09:05 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Conway, NH
Posts: 574
Does the GY-HD200 have the 'split screen' and other issues?

I owned a GY-HD100 a few years ago and wasn't keen on a few things: the color wasn't very accurate (especially the default settings), the 'line' that would sometimes appear center screen, and occasional dead pixels (which you could fix in the menu). These were all known issues with the 100 and talked about quite a bit on these forums. Did the GY-HD200 rectify these issues?
Bill Edmunds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2015, 10:23 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Re: Does the GY-HD200 have the 'split screen' and other issues?

Yes ,
Problem fixed, use ,Paolo's true colour 3 matrix to reign colours in, I pulled back the red a bit more as it over saturates . Dead pixels same issue fixed in 24p mode. I had my ccd block replaced as I lost 12 of them and couldn't remap
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2015, 11:54 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
Re: Does the GY-HD200 have the 'split screen' and other issues?

Adam.

Slightly off-topic. Do you still have your JVC GY-HD cam with a working firewire port? There is another Perth owner but he is not back from Canada inside of about 18 months? Am looking to capture some WW2 precious oral histories originated on a GY-HD111 before the tapes curl up at the edges and become unreadable. This for another individual whose tapes are here but he is in Thailand.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2015, 02:40 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: Does the GY-HD200 have the 'split screen' and other issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Letch View Post
I pulled back the red a bit more as it over saturates
I looks like this is typical JVC as I noticed the gy-ls300 also over saturates red.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2015, 01:35 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,330
Re: Does the GY-HD200 have the 'split screen' and other issues?

Several 790's at my station suffer the split screen effect. I complained so much (I shoot night at high gain!) that a JVC tech was sent to the station to resolve the issue. He explained the series has DUAL DSP's, one for each side of the screen, because back when they designed their HD cameras, a single DSP chip would have overheated from the massive 720p processing. Long story short, he hooked up a piece of proprietary tech equipment to an internal board, and had to adjust each DSP until they "matched". Apparently, these are the only cameras that you have to match to them selves! :-O

Paul
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network