Tamron Lens Results and Edit Software at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2005, 12:39 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 68
Tamron Lens Results and Edit Software

Last week I posted pictures of Nikon lens mounted to the JVCGYhd100 camera, below are links to image grabs from
video shot with both the Nikon mount lens and the Standard 16X Fujinon lens. The grabs are self explanatory. After a lot of frustration with NLE including FCP/Liquid/Premiere for capturing and Batch capturing there is a solution that works,
though there are some issues with time-code, I have a strong suspicion that its got to do with JVC system. All my work has been done in 720P25, done some test in 720P24 and 720P30. The software which can finally capture,edit, and output to tape in HDV is Ulead Media Studio Pro8. downloaded a 30Day trial which is fully functional. Did the following, Launched the editor, then setup a 720P25 project, launched batch capture logged six clips, set capture except for a very slow 5 seconds preroll,
the software had no other problems capturing. Edited five clips and viola recorded back to tape. All in 720P25.
So guys go download and try, thats the best solution right now and I belive it also does 720P24, but have not tried it.
Below are all the picture links both lens and mount and the grabs from the footage shot with the both the Nikon mount lens abd the Fujinon. Incidently all the capture and conversion to Tiff images was done Ulead MS8 on my Laptop.
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/BatteryCU.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/FullShotFront.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwing...otLowAngle.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/FullShotSide.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/HD100910Front.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/HD100910Rear.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/LensCU.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/Fuj2.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/Fuj1.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/Tam1.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/Tam2.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/Tam3.jpg
http://files.photojerk.com/yusufwings/Tam4.jpg
Yusuf Thakur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2005, 01:44 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Half of those links don't work for me. And as for the Nikon lens, did you use some type of shallow d.o.f. device for it?
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2005, 03:00 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
The first 7 links say "page not found".
Warren Shultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2005, 06:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 434
Where did you get the Nikon adapter?
Ben Syverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2005, 03:16 AM   #5
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Yusuf, most of the links don't work. But thank you for putting up those pictures! Very interesting.

Do you have a chance to do any more comparison shots? It would be most interesting to see the Tamron compared against the Fujinon when shooting the same field of view on the same subject. The Fujinon tele shot shows extremely excessive chromatic aberration; it would be most helpful to see how the Tamron would handle the same shot, and if it delivers comparable resolving power.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2005, 07:21 AM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yusuf Thakur
though there are some issues with time-code, I have a strong suspicion that its got to do with JVC system. All my work has been done in 720P25, done some test in 720P24 and 720P30.
Yusuf - see my thread on PAL SD timecode issues for the possible cause to your problems in PAL SD25
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2005, 01:06 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 38
holy cow, the images you shot through that Tamron look really good. What exactly is the lens and how did you mount it? What's the _effective_ zoom range and t-stops? (I assume that if it's a 35mm still lens rated at 200-400, it's probably more like 800-1600 when you take into consideration the size of the ccd) ??? etc...I'm really interested in what people are doing to get different lenses onto the front of this camera.
Alexei Berteig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2005, 01:09 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 38
BTW, for clarification, when you say "Nikon mount," do you mean this is a Nikon lens or is it, as labelled on the .jpgs (Tam 1 thru 4) a tamron lens?
Alexei Berteig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2005, 09:38 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 68
Links work

All the links work now, below are the links to my earlier post.
The adapter is a mechanical one made by zoerk in Germany
cost Euro280/- you can mount any nikon mount lens, nikon, tamron,sigma. etc.
We are still doing tests between work as we find time, does the setup, check the pictures, we will shoot comparitive resolution charts with all our lenses will post if possible, It takes time to do all this.

Most of the questions have been answered in the earlier post, yes the chromatic problem is due to not white-balancing after changing each every lens.
Well we all learn, my camera guy who film based dop, did
not know about this, and I had forgotten to tell him.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=52880
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...t=43262&page=3
Yusuf Thakur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2005, 09:43 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 68
Yes John

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mitchell
Yusuf - see my thread on PAL SD timecode issues for the possible cause to your problems in PAL SD25
Yes John I did read your post, and have printed out you post.
Will discuss this with, JVC.
Checked if the solutions was in the advance menu, but did find one. Yes I do know about that was given this when we had a dead pixel, took five minutes to sort this out once
I recived the advance menu from JVC here in Dubai.
Yusuf Thakur is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network