DVCPro HD Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 11th, 2005, 02:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 240
DVCPro HD Capture

Yesterday we were successful in setting up a nice workflow that allows posting in DVCPRO HD. We are using 720p24 and outputting via component analog HD on the BR-HD50 to a Kona LH with bob. This bypasses the 24p HDV problems in FCPro and also allows us to edit and correct with an I frame based codec with more than 4 times the bandwidth. We need to output via SDI and Analog video, so the Kona met our needs and is not overkill for us.

After some tests with 23.97 setups in FCPro which resulted in only 1/2 or less of the footage being captured during batches, we found we had to use the 59.94 settings on the capture and sequences in FCPro. We are controlling the deck via RS-422. Everything works great, no sync issues ect. We did have a problem with the JVC VTRs. Read my other post.

The captured footage plays out via SDI-HD and downconverted NTSC on the Kona in realtime, no rendering.

The responsiveness of the timeline is great with this codec. All in all very impressed with the analog capture and superb image quality. We can pretty much output any format to our decks.
Dave Beaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2005, 03:20 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Yup. It's too bad you have to waste so much disk space on redundant frames capturing 59.94, but that's the way it goes. There's serious problems with the method I chose to use myself (AIC capture, etc).
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2005, 03:48 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 240
Nate,

Have you tried the Panasonic FCPro program for Varicam that will take 59.94 DVCPro HD clips and convert them to 23.97? I was wondering if this would work to ditch the redundant frames. It's a free DL on the panasonic website.

The other problem we have, and I understand everyone has, is the clips that are batched come in as subclips and the media files have to be dragged in from the finder to work in FCPro?

Dave
Dave Beaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2005, 04:09 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Actually, my flow is completely different so I haven't had any chance or reason to try of the things you mention. No analog in on my Blackmagic card, so never had media like yours.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network