Help! Camera sais 'Mode Changing' on a recorded tape. - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 28th, 2005, 09:13 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogo Athouguia
That's why it's always good to record 30 min of bars
That would be of course 30 seconds... :-)
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2005, 12:05 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 282
lol... yes, of course!
Diogo Athouguia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2006, 06:03 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
JVC tech support confirmed I was using the right type of DV tapes and suggested to clean my heads (new camera???), and then try again.
So far so good now, taped 3 hours without problems.
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 01:38 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 282
New cameras may also need a heads cleaning, that is not unusual. By the way, which tapes are you using?
Diogo Athouguia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 02:14 PM   #20
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
This has been addressed before with other cameras. The FIRST TAPE to stick in your brand new camera should be a head cleaning tape! Then, use whatever the manufacturer recommends and try to stick with the same tape stock.

Sorry you lost that footage. I was fortunate enough on one of my new (SD) cameras to only get a 'clean heads' error during the third tape I put in it but no loss of video. But I did stop recording immediately until running a head cleaner through the camera. Many of the SD cameras from different manufacturers have exhibited this phenomenon. Apparently it's a bigger problem with HDV type footage due to GOP compression, etc.

Please keep us posted on this issue.

regards,

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 04:15 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Diogo:
I currently use the Panasonic AY-DVM63MQ.

Greg:
Well it did scare the hell out of me. My hart stood still watching the 'mode changing' after 12 min of good footage. I couldn't believe what happened. In 15 years this never happened to me. After using the cleaning tape a few days ago, it seems to be solved yes.
The customer is luckly very satisfied with the edited end result. But he mentioned he missed 1/4th of the show... and in fact it was the best part of the show...
I explained him what happened and showed him the tape, now he felt sorry for me instead...
I good relation with your customer sometimes is worth Gold.
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network