Exporting To Tape at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 5th, 2006, 02:58 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maldives
Posts: 97
Exporting To Tape

Once one has used Tim Dashwood's HDVxDV method of encoding and editing, how then does one get the edited project, back to tape?
Bruce Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 06:16 AM   #2
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100

I mean this in the nicest way possible...you need to sit down and read this forum from day one for about 2 hours. All of these questions you're asking have been covered multiple times.

I know it seems a pain to dig through so much material, and I know you're on a deadline, but do us this favor.

My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 06:24 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 855
I second that Nate. Bruce, you seem to start multiple threads with the exact same topic. Most can be done in one thread, OR better in existing threads covering your issue.

That's how I learned too =) and I am also new. Maybe even considering downloading Mullen's manual. I find MOST of my answers scrolling the forums, searching and/or keeping an eye on day to day developments.
Brian Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 10:59 AM   #4
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,632
I really need to create the FAQ ASAP! I was also thinking of writing a "how to" for mac users (and maybe someone else could do the same for the PC side.)

Bruce, to output your 720P24 sequence back to the HD100 from FCP5, you need to convert it into a HDV 720P30 sequence, since the HD100 won't understand an incoming 720P24 signal unless it is in 720P60 (which FCP5.0.4 is incapable of outputing.)

So here are the suggested steps.
  • After you have edited your 720P24 sequence in FCP, "Export To Quicktime Movie" using "Current Settings." You can choose to make it self-contained (requires more HD space and time.)
  • Select "HDV - 720p30" from the "Easy Setup" menu
  • Now re-import the Quicktime you just created.
  • Create a new sequence using the "HDV - 720p30" preset. (The easy setup would have made this the default preset.)
  • Now drop the exported quicktime (24P) into the new sequence (30P) and render. FCP will automatically create the pulldown frames for you, but it won't necessarily be 2:3 because 30P doesn't have fields like 60i. The pattern will look something like ABCDD. I guess you could call this 1:1:1:2 pulldown. (I will attempt to create a 720P60 solution with external Mpeg2 encoding to maintain 2:3 pulldown in the future - I just don't have alot of time right now for trial and error.)
  • Put the camera in 720P30 mode and VTR mode. This is important.
  • Now Print to Video and make sure you select at least 10 seconds of black leader.
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network